Export Controls Compliance Advisory Committee

Current Members

  • David Divins, Executive Director, School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering (Chair)
  • Matthew Simon, Licensing Manager, UNHInnovation
  • Louise Griffin, Sr. Director, Sponsored Programs Administration
  • Jeffrey Lapak, Director, InterOperability Laboratory
  • Yaning Li, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering (CAMMI)
  • Melissa McGee, Compliance Officer, Research Integrity Services
  • Debbie O’Neil, UNH Procurement Services
  • Nathan Schwadron, Professor, Space Science Center
  • Victor Sosa, Director, Contracts & Export Controls
  • Louis Tisa, Professor, Molecular, Cellular, and Biomedical Sciences
  • Kerryellen Vroman, Associate Vice Provost for International Programs

Charter of the Export Compliance Advisory Committee (ECAC)

The purpose of the UNH Export Compliance Advisory Committee is to:

  • Provide a regular forum for the discussion of issues related to export and sanctions compliance;
  • Guide the continuing development of the UNH Export Compliance Management Program;
  • Advise the Senior Vice Provost for Research on compliance related issues, including policy development and implementation, training needs, and faculty administrative burden; and
  • Communicate with the wider UNH community about export controls and sanctions, and promote a culture of export compliance.

The ECAC will consider both research and non-research functional areas within the University, e.g., Procurement, Mailing Services, Business Service Centers, etc. to establish a compliance environment appropriate for the regulatory requirements.

The ECAC shall be comprised of UNH’s Director of Contracts & Export Controls; UNH’s Compliance Officer; representatives of other OSVPR functional areas (all serving as ex-officio, non-voting members); and seven voting representatives from UNH departments that regularly engage in activities and/or transactions that raise export and sanction compliance issues.

The ECAC membership profile shall be reviewed and adjusted as necessary to reflect current activities and needs, with a conscious effort to include representatives who will bring diverse expertise and experience to bear and represent the broader UNH community of Campuses and Schools.

Members will be invited to serve by the Senior Vice Provost for Research, and voting members shall serve either two-year or three-year terms. Ex-officio members will serve indefinitely. When a voting member has to leave before the end of their term, the ECAC will nominate replacements and define their length of service. Ex-officio members will work cooperatively to ensure appropriate representation for each meeting.

View Export Controls Knowledge Base

The Knowledge Base contains forms, instruction and training material, minutes, policies, tools and other resources to support your research efforts by topic area.