Chemical Safety Committee

The charge of the Chemical Safety Committee (CSC) is to assure the safe acquisition, use and disposal of all hazardous chemicals at the University of New Hampshire (UNH). It is the responsibility of the Committee to establish appropriate health and safety policies in accordance with federal regulations and guidelines that cover chemical safety and evaluate research being conducted at UNH for chemical safety considerations.

UNH Chemical Safety Award

The Chemical Safety Committee and the Office of Environmental Health and Safety created the UNH Chemical Safety Award to recognize exemplary achievements in chemical safety by UNH students.

More information on the Chemical Safety Award

Chemical Safety Award Nomination Form

The 2021 Chemical Safety Award has been granted to two chemical engineering students  — Ph.D. candidate Zahra Panahi and Seth Drahusz ’22 — have won this year’s UNH Chemical Safety Award. The award recognizes a graduate student and undergraduate student who have made outstanding contributions to chemical safety at UNH in the past academic year. These contributions help promote a culture of safety within the UNH research and teaching community. Award recipients will receive an award plaque and a $1000 gift made possible by Measured Air Performance.


Full Committee Members Department
Cheryl Whistler (Chair) Molecular, Cellular and Biomedical Sciences
Cindi Rohwer Chemistry
Jesse Ambrose College of Engineering and Physical Sciences
Christopher McLarnon Chemical Engineering
Paula Mouser Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ron O'Keefe UNH Police Department
Roy Planalp Chemistry
Samantha Reynolds UNH at Manchester Chemistry
Shelby Halley NH Veterinary Diagnostics Laboratory
Wendy Rose Natural Resources and the Environment
Ex Officio Voting Members  
Christina Karas Environmental Health & Safety
Ex Officio Non-Voting Members  
Karen Jensen Sponsored Programs Administration
Marty McCrone Environmental Health & Safety

Chemical Safety Committee Charter

View Chemical Safety Knowledge Base

The Knowledge Base contains forms, instruction and training material, minutes, policies, tools and other resources to support your research efforts by topic area.

CSC meeting agendas and minutes for prior years can be obtained by calling the Office of Environmental Health & Safety at (603) 862-4041.

Contact Information

Christina Karas, Laboratory Safety Officer
Phone: (603) 862-2571