Research Council

The UNH Research Council serves as an advisory body to the Senior Vice Provost for Research on matters pertaining to the support and advancement of excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activities at UNH.  It provides a forum for communication and opportunities for collaboration among the Research Office, the colleges and schools, the research centers and institutes, and other key players in the UNH research enterprise.

The goals of the UNH Research Council are to:

  • Advise the Senior Vice Provost for Research (SVPR) on research, scholarship, and creative activities (RSCA)-related issues, including services, policies, and procedures;
  • Recommend and help operationalize actions to strengthen and promote UNH’s RSCA programs;
  • Facilitate information sharing; and
  • Identify opportunities for collaboration.

Procedures:  The Council meets quarterly.


  • SVPR (Chair)
  • Associate deans for research (or equivalent) from each UNH college and school
  • Director, deputy, or associate director of selected UNH research institutes
  • Cooperative Extension representative
  • Library representative
  • Faculty Senate representative
  • Research Faculty Council representative

Current members of the Research Council

Representatives Name Title


Jan Nisbet

Senior Vice Provost for Research


Carsey School of Public
Policy (Carsey School)

Curt Grimm

Deputy Director, Carsey School and
Research Associate Professor,
Department of Anthropology, COLA

College of Engineering &
Physical Sciences (CEPS)

Glenn Shwaery

Associate Dean, CEPS

College of Health &
Human Services (CHHS)

John Bunker

Associate Dean, CHHS

College of Liberal
Arts (COLA)

Alasdair Drysdale

Associate Dean and
Professor of Geography, COLA

College of Life Sciences
& Agriculture (COLSA)

Lou Tisa

Professor, Dept. of Molecular, Cellular
and Biomedical Sciences, COLSA

Peter T. Paul College of
Business & Economics
(Paul College)

Neil Niman

Associate Dean of Academic
Programs and Associate
Professor of Economics, Paul College

UNH Manchester

Mihaela Sabin

Associate Professor, Computer
Science, UNH-M

Graduate School

Harry Richards

Dean, Graduate School

Institute for the Study
of Earth, Oceans, and
Space (EOS)


Associate Professor of
Space Plasma Physics, EOS

Institute on
Disability (IOD)

Charles Drum

Director, IOD and Professor of Health
Management and Policy, CHHS

Cooperative Extension




Emily Poworoznek

Associate Professor, Engineering
and Physical Sciences Library

Faculty Senate

Glen Miller

Professor of Chemistry, CEPS

Research Faculty Council

Elizabeth Fairchild

Research Assistant Professor,
Dept. of Biological Sciences,




Research Office

Kathy Cataneo

Director of Research Development

Research Office

Louise Griffin

Director of Administration

Research Office

Mark Milutinovich

Director, Large Center Development