Tutoring

Knack

Looking for a tutor? Knack is a peer-to-peer tutoring platform that will be available to all enrolled students for all undergraduate courses in fall 2022! Students looking for additional assistance outside of the classroom are advised to consider working with a peer tutor through Knack. UNH has partnered with Knack to provide students with access to verified tutors who have previously aced this course. To view available tutors, visit unh.joinknack.com and sign in with your student account.

Looking to become a tutor? If you’ve received a B+ or higher in a UNH class, you are eligible to tutor for it! Sign up to be a tutor through the Knack and choose your own hours, get paid for training, and every tutoring session you do at $15/hour! Join the KnackPack@UNH!

Knack

    Note: Knack and CFAR are separate entities.  If you have questions about the platform or need assistance, please email the Knack support line: support@joinknack.com.  Thank you!

    Honor Societies and Departments

    Chemistry Honor Society​ (AXE)

    • Peer-led free tutoring for general and organic chemistry courses
    • Location: Parsons W131
    • Hours: Tuesdays and Wednesdays, 7 PM to 9 PM
    • Contact: mamuchapter@gmail.com 

    Chemistry TA Office Hours​

    • Free assistance with lab assignments, problems, concepts, and online homework assignments for: CHEM 403, CHEM 404, CHEM 405, and CHEM 411
    • Location: Zoom and in-person options available -- consult the TA office hours handout
    • Contact: Ian Konen (ian.konen@unh.edu)

    Physics Honor Society​

    • Society members work at the Physics Help Center
    • Students are welcome to email the Physics Honor Society directly to find tutors for 1:1 sessions; may have a fee for service
    • Location: Online
    • Contact: Anderson Steckler (anderson.steckler@unh.edu

    Psychology Honor Society​ (Psi Chi)

    • Connect with a peer tutor and get support in PSYC 401, PSYC 402, PSYC 502, and any other Psychology class
    • Contact: Julia Priest (julia.priest@unh.edu)
    • Teaching Assistants are available for ADMN 403, ADMN 410, ADMN 502, ADMN 503, ADMN 510, ECON 401, ECON 402, and ECON 565
    • Location: Consult the online schedule for the most up-to-date information
    • Hours: Consult the online schedule for the most up-to-date information
    • Contact: Drew Patrick (drew.patrick@unh.edu)
    • Peer support for all aspects of WS courses, papers and class projects are offered for students enrolled in WS 400/500 level courses. Feminist mentors can be assigned to all first-year and sophomore students.
    • Location: Hamilton Smith G49
    • Contact:  Email Avary Thorne (avary.thorne@unh.edu) for current student office hours

    Psychology Honor Society​ (Psi Chi)

    • Free question and answer sessions for BIOL 411 and BIOL 412; no appointment needed
    • Location: Rudman 110
    • Hours: Tuesdays, 7 PM to 8 PM
    • Contact: Sierra Rose Walsh (sierrarose.walsh@unh.edu

    University Resource Center

    • Writing Center​ provides support for all aspects of the writing process from brainstorming to the final draft.
    • Location: Dimond Library 329 and online
    • Phone: 603-862-3272
    • Appointments: WCOnline
    • Hours: Monday through Thursday, 10 am to 8 pm; Friday, 10 am to 2 pm
    • Don't forget about the Online Writing Lab (OWL)!
    • The Physics Help Center provides support for PHYS 401/402/407/408 students. Staffed by Physics Faculty, Graduate students, and Society of Physics Students. Work on homework problems and get help if you get stuck.  
    • Location: DeMeritt 238 and online via Zoom
    • Hours: Consult the schedule
    • Contact: Francois Foucart (fancois.foucart@unh.edu
    • Learning facility for students, including a state-of-the-art computer lab
    • Location: Murkland G15
    • Hours: to reserve a space, email Olivia Babin
    • Contact: Olivia Babin (olivia.babin@unh.edu
    • Looking to practice your language skills?  Visit one of the practice hours!
    • Engineering, physics, and math tutors specializing in ME and OE introductory and some sophomore/junior level undergraduate courses
    • Tutor names, emails, and courses are listed in Canvas (ME/OE Organization) and available in Kingsbury
    • Location: Kingsbury W101
    • Hours: Consult the information in Canvas
    • Contact: Kelly Danforth (kelly.danforth@unh.edu
    • Support in CEE 500 and ME 525
    • CEE 500: Tuesdays from 6 PM to 8 PM & Fridays from 1 PM to 5 PM
    • ME 525: Tuesdays from 6 PM to 8 PM & Thursdays from 7 PM to 8 PM
    • Location: Kingsbury Hall N333 (the Math Center)

    How to Hire a Personal Tutor

    • Finding and hiring a private pay tutor
    • Tips for getting the most out of tutoring sessions