PhD Recipients

A complete list of UNH McNair Scholar Alumni who have earned a PhD and/or professional doctorates may be viewed below.  If you are a McNair Scholar Alumnus/a, have earned a doctorate, are currently working in the non-profit sector, and are interested in going to D.C to advocate for the continued funding for federal TRIO programs, contact us here

We also recommend that you consider becoming a member of the New Hampshire Educational Opportunity Association (NHEOA):

PhD and Doctoral Degree Recipients (1996 - Present)

Thomas Graham, JD, Law, University of Connecticut, School of Law (1996)

Kristin Rennie, DVM, Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University (1998)

Karen LaCourse, PhD, Psychology, University of Michigan (1998)

Melissa Bourque Philion, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology, Drexel University (1998)

Sylvia Marecki, PhD, Pathology/Immunology, Boston University (2000)

Rachel Worthen, PhD, Chemical Engineering, University of Florida (2001)

Amy Palmer, PhD, Chemistry, Stanford University (2002)

Jennifer Whetsell, JD, Law, New York University, School of Law (2002)

John Greene, JD, Law, Fordham University, School of Law (2002)

Jared Sexton, PhD, Ethnic Studies, University of California-Berkeley (2002)

Ora Carter Holcomb, PhD, Plant Physiology, Washington State University (2002)

Lorena Ahumada, JD, Law, George Washington University, School of Law (2003)

Diane O’Callaghan, JD, Law, University of New Hampshire, School of Law (2004)

Martinique Alber, PhD, Psychology, Auburn University (2005)

Lahra Smith, PhD, Political Science, University of California-Los Angeles (2005)

Jaime Rodriguez, PhD, Spanish and Portuguese, Columbia University (2005)

Daudeline Meme, JD, Law, University of Michigan, School of Law (2005)

Loretta Carle Brady, PhD, Clinical Psychology, Fordham University (2006)

Tracy Bernson, JD, Law, Syracuse University, School of Law (2003)

April Williams, JD, University of Georgia, School of Law (2006)

Shirley Arteaga, PhD, Human Services Psychology, University of Maryland-Baltimore (2006)

Jessica Pelletier-Brown, PhD, Human Services Psychology, University of Maryland-Baltimore (2006)

Jennifer Marckres, JD, Law, Suffolk University, School of Law (2007)

Jessica Johnson, JD, Law, College of William and Mary, School of Law (2007)

Maria Hayes, DC, Chiropractic Medicine, Northwestern University (2008)

Rosa Alcazar, PhD, Biology, Johns Hopkins University (2008)

Christina Ulrich, MD, Medicine, Harvard Medical School (2008)

Amy Day-Lewis, PhD, Geophysics, Stanford University (2008)

Sandra Howard, PhD, Design and Planning, University of Colorado-Denver (2008)

Antoinette Hillian, PhD, Genetics, Case Western Reserve University (2009)

Ayana Weekley, PhD, Feminist Studies, University of Minnesota (2010)

David Lucander, PhD, Afro-American Studies, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (2010)

Kinohi Nishikawa, PhD, Literature, Duke University (2010)

Shilyh Warren, PhD, Literature, Duke University (2010)

Airin Martinez, PhD, Sociology, University of California-San Francisco (2010)

Christoph Cameron, PhD, History, UNC Chapel Hill (2010)

Sherie Friedrich, PhD, Clinical Psychology, Antioch University-Midwest (2010)

Giao Huynh, PhD, Mathematics, University of Utah (2010)

Shani Roberts, PhD, Clinical Psychology, Wichita State University (2011)

Jacob McChesney, JD, Law, Pace University, School of Law (2012)

Manouchka Poinson, PhD, American Studies, University of Maryland-College Park (2012)

Jee Eun Song, PhD, Cultural Studies, University of California-Davis (2012)

Lana Cook, PhD, English, Northeastern University (2014)

Stephen Morgan, PhD, Civil Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (2015)

Tiffany Nowell, PhD, Psychology, Saint Louis University (2015)

Chantelle Jacobs, PhD, English Literature, University of Connecticut (2015) 

Eman Akam, PhD, Chemistry, University of Arizona (2016)

Leolene Jean, PhD, Biological Sciences, Vanderbilt University (2016)

George Adams, PhD, Music History, University of Chicago (2017)

Ashley Doukas, PhD, Clinical Psychology, The New School for Social Research (2017)​

Michael Taylor, PhD, Microbiology, University of New Hampshire (2017)

Andrea Joseph, PhD , Social Work, University of Pittsburgh (2018)

Joshua Albair, PhD, Linguistics, University of Paris (2020)

Herbie Smith, PhD, Physics, University of Texas at Austin (2021)

Shersingh Joseph Tumber-Davila, PhD, Environmental Earth Science, Stanford University (2021)

Janice Disla, PhD, Psychology, University of California at Merced (2022)