Faculty Awards

Exterior of Paul College in the summer

Each year, the University of New Hampshire selects a small number of its outstanding faculty for special recognition of their achievements in teaching, scholarship and service. Awards for Excellence in Teaching are given in each college and school, and University-wide awards recognize public service, research, teaching and engagement.

Faculty Excellence is supported by the Dr. Norman Alexander Teaching Excellence Fund. Established by Arnold P. and Della Hanson, the fund honors Dr. Alexander for his exceptional career at the University where, from 1929 to 1948, he served as faculty member, dean of men, and chair of the government department.

Past faculty award recipients

Awards and Award Descriptions

The ideal university faculty member is someone whose accomplishments in the areas of teaching, research, and service are prodigious and of the highest quality. They are an inspiring, challenging, and effective teacher, whose concern and respect for students is evident both in and out of the classroom. Such a faculty member makes important and extensive contributions to their chosen field, and shares those contributions with peers through publication or other appropriate means. Finally, the ideal faculty member willingly and effectively devotes time and energy in useful service to the university, the profession, and the state. The recipients of these awards are those members of the university faculty who, in recent years, have demonstrated these qualities. Each year, two Outstanding Faculty Awards will be given, one each for an assistant and an associate professor. All UNH tenure track faculty members at those ranks are eligible.

The purpose of this award is to identify and honor longstanding members of the UNH faculty. This singular university-wide award will be given each year to the faculty member whose overall record of excellent teaching, caring about students, devotion to the university community, and substantial record of scholarly achievement exemplifies what we would call a "distinguished longstanding career" at UNH. Each year there will be no more than one Distinguished Professor Award. Long-term UNH tenure-track faculty members at the rank of professor are eligible.

This award acknowledges and honors a member of the UNH faculty who has demonstrated superior creativity and success in their research. Research is understood to include activities that result in the generation of new ideas or works of art, the solution of fundamental problems in a particular field, or the discovery of important new facts. This award is based on the quality, originality, and significance of the recipient's scholarly work. Since university faculty are expected to be effective transmitters as well as creators of knowledge, the willingness and ability of the recipient to share knowledge and research skills with colleagues and students should be evident. Each year there will be one Award for Excellence in Research. UNH benefits-eligible faculty members are eligible, except those who have received this award within the last five years.

This award recognizes and honors exceptional achievements in the area of public service. Individuals who receive this award have engaged in outstanding service activities that are dependent on their academic expertise and that support the mission of the university. The types of activities to be honored should be related to a candidate's academic field and may include exceptional service to local, state or federal governments, to non-profit organizations or agencies, to business or industry, and to the university. UNH benefits-eligible faculty members are eligible, except those who have received this award within the last five years.

The Jean Brierley Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes excellence in teaching by a faculty member over the course of a long-term distinguished career at UNH. A bequest from the estate of Jean Brierley, Class of 1930, established this award. Professor Brierley established the endowed fund in 1973 to recognize teaching in any field or discipline at UNH. The recipient will give a presentation at an annual event sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning to help celebrate and promote good teaching. UNH benefits-eligible faculty members are eligible, except those who have received this award within the last five years.

This award recognizes exceptional international engagement by a current UNH faculty member. Nominees should have a well-established and ongoing record of international education and/or research while on the UNH faculty. Such activities should include several of the following: directing UNH managed programs abroad, individual research, collaborative research with international partners, exchange teaching, encouraging and supporting student involvement in international research (e.g., IROP), evidence of global perspectives within curriculum, service on international boards and task forces, consulting and/or publications/performances. UNH benefits-eligible faculty members are eligible, except recipients within the last five years. This award is supported by the Global Education Center.

This award acknowledges and honors a member of the UNH faculty who has demonstrated a record of excellence in clinical engagement. This award is based on the quality integrated within the educational and practicum-based training of students in clinical-based professions, teaching, caring about students, and devotion to the university community. Recipients of this award are members of the university faculty who have provided leadership and a demonstrated record of achievement in clinical activities, teaching, and service. Award winners contribute both on-campus and off-campus in the broader chosen professional arenas in which the faculty has valued expertise. This award will be presented annually to a UNH benefits-eligible faculty member, excluding faculty that have received this award within the last five years.

UNH Faculty Awards Committee
  • Gonghu Li, Committee Chair, Nonvoting - College of Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Sherri Simmons-Horton - College of Health and Human Services
  • Sherine Elsawa  - Faculty Senate Representative
  • Nora Draper - College of Liberal Arts
  • Sarah Theimer - UNH Library
  • Scarlett Song - Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics
  • Andrew Kun  - College of Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Thomas Foxall - College of Life Sciences and Agriculture
  • Won Suh - UNH Manchester
  • Amanda McQuaid - UNH Cooperative Extension
Wildcat Statue