University Commission on Community, Equity and Diversity


To provide university-wide leadership in support of institutional diversity and a welcoming, inclusive campus. To recognize diversity as a source of excellence, enrichment, and strength for all members of the university community. The Commission’s efforts are to create a welcoming and inclusive campus grounded in mutual respect, nurtured by dialogue, and evidenced by a pattern of civil interaction (Pres. James Dean, email 7.8.19).
The Commission is formed around a common bond and a commitment to the advancement of historically marginalized/underrepresented groups, challenging stereotypes, eradicating systemic inequalities and oppression, and creating a campus climate of respect for all students, staff and faculty.


To work collaboratively with the Inclusion Council and the Office of Community, Equity, and Diversity (OCED) on issues of diversity and inequity. To create working groups and committees involved in awareness-building programming; and submit proposals for services, policy changes and practices that build safer, more welcoming, universally accessible learning, working and living environments free of physical, programmatic and attitudinal barriers.

To monitor campus for both discriminatory incidents and evidence of progress, sharing issues/concerns with OCED, and recommending action(s) to the Inclusion Council and other UNH governance groups.
To act as a resource/source for action items as identified by the President and/or other UNH governance groups.

Seat Representative/s
Office of Community, Equity and Diversity Allyson Ryder (Co-chair)
COLA faculty Mike Alvarez (Co-chair)
Office of Dean of Students, Asst Vice Provost Student Life Shari Robinson

Jes Crowell

Admissions Evan Beals, Nhien Quach, Cynthia Velasquez
Civil Rights and Equity Office Vacant
Alumni Relations Paul Chiarantona
Athletics Vacant
Beauregard Center Lu Butterfield-Ferrell, Brady Barre, Yashwant Prakash Vyas
Campus Recreation Kayode Lewis
Career and Professional Success (CaPS) Riannon Nute
Communication and Public Affairs Jim Graham
CONNECT Funmi Oyekunle
Engagement & Faculty Development Leslie Couse
Health & Wellness Dawn Zitney
Human Resources Kimberly Jennison, Jamie Racca, Anna Dulude
Military and Veteran's Affairs Kalyn Ryll
Office International Students and Scholars Vacant
Residential Life Vacant
SHARPP Rachel Stewart
Student Accessibility Services Scott Lapinski
Off-campus Engagement Jamie Silverstein
Stonewall Grads Emily Whalen
Graduate Student Senate Vacant
UG Student Senate Emily Dennison, Dina Rahke
UG Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Council Chairperson Christian Katumba
OS Council Janice Pierson
PAT Council Vacant
Post Doctoral Association Mariah Livernois, Karina Sanchez
Faculty Senate Meg Morgan
CEPS Faculty or Assoc Dean Julie Bryce
CEPS Staff Vacant
COLA Staff Vacant
COLSA Faculty or Assoc Dean Vacant
COLSA Staff Vacant
HHS Faculty or Assoc Dean Kelsey Boucher
HHS Staff Aleah Fine
Library Elizabeth Fowler
Paul College Faculty or Assoc Dean Vicky Parker
Paul College Staff Rachel Kim
UNH Law School Kathy Fletcher
UNH Manchester Sarah Prescott
Chief Diversity Officer, Associate Vice President for the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Ex-Officio Nadine Petty
Office of Community, Equity, and  Diversity :  Ex-Officio Sharon Tarleton