Campus Planning Committee

Chair:  Ed Hinson

The Campus Planning Committee will concern itself with space allocation, facilities, and physical plant planning.

The chair or the chair’s designee should attend meetings as an observer to the Space Allocation, Repair and Renovation Committee. The chair or designee should attend meetings as a member of the Campus Master Plan Steering Committee.

Reports and motions need to be forwarded electronically to the Agenda Committee for review and placement on the agenda, which will be sent to Senators on the Thursday or Friday before the Senate meeting. Every effort will be made to include reports and motions as electronic back-ups for each Faculty Senate meeting so that Senators have access to the material ahead of time and can be prepared to deliberate on the materials. The Committee’s assistance with preparing and submitting the documents to assist the Senate is greatly appreciated.

Corresponding Administrators:

Assistant Vice President for Energy and Campus Development, Real Property Management, & Campus Planning, Assistant Vice President of Facilities & Operations, Campus Planner

2019-2020 Charges - Not yet published

Campus Planning Committee Membership 2019-2020

CHAIR:  Ed Hinson, Mathematics & Statistics   CEPS

Tom Ballestero, Civil & Environmental Engineering  CEPS

Robert Eshbach,  Music  COLA

Marc Hiller,  Health Management & Policy   HHS

Moein Khanlari,  Marketing   PAUL

Clayton Mitchell, Natural Resources & the Environment  COLSA

Jayson Seaman, Kinesiology   HHS


2018-2019 Charges

Campus Planning Committee

Recurring Charges:

1. Continue monitoring current and planned campus facilities. At least one member of the CPC should attend SAARC (Space Allocation, Adaption and Renewal Committee) meetings to obtain information about current and upcoming plans for stewardship of all University buildings, grounds, roads, and related infrastructure. Continue to maintain frequent communication with SAARC and report to the Senate regarding likely funding priorities for the current fiscal year—particularly how they will prioritize their “Space/Campus Improvements List” for the upcoming fiscal year; priorities are usually set during the fall semester, and the Senate should have a voice in the process.

2. Continue monitoring campus transportation issues. One or two members of the CPC should attend TPC (Transportation Policy Committee) meetings to obtain information about the full range of issues that relate to transportation management, including parking, bus routes, pedestrian walkways, and signage/wayfinding. Report to the Senate regarding any important TPC updates, and communicate Senate concerns back to the TPC.

3. Provide update on number of faculty/staff parking spaces. Review concerns about parking services taking spaces regularly from faculty/staff lots and reserving the spaces for campus visitors and also changing faculty/staff parking spaces permanently to metered spaces.

Charges for Academic Year 2018–19

4. Ask the University Architect and Director of Campus Planning (Doug Bencks) to meet with the Senate CPC one time in Fall semester, and possibly one time in Spring semester. Ask him to provide updates, including on the Master Plan, maintenance and other plans for PCAC, SAARC funding priorities, the former ATO property development, potential public-private ventures, and a possible parking deck at the Campus Crossing Visitor lot.

5. Ask Stephen Pesci (Campus Planning, Special Projects Director) and Dirk Timmons (UNH Transportation Services) to meet with the Senate CPC one time in either late Fall semester or early Spring semester. Ask for an update on the Campus Crossing Visitor lot parking deck plans, electric vehicle charging stations on campus, and best practices for UNH course field trip transportation (e.g., the most economical/efficient method of transport, recommended/UNH-approved pick up/drop off and parking locations, and how to mitigate instructor liability).

6. Ask the Associate Vice President for Facilities, and the Vice President for Finance & Administration for an update regarding snow and ice removal efforts for the coming year (in light of concerns with icy pedestrian paths in January 2017).

7. Research the history of planned/promised upgrades/renovation/replacement of the Paul Creative Arts Center (PCAC), including but not limited to the suitability of the facility for current instructional needs, reported health related issues with the structure, and its suitability for future performance and instructional needs. Report to the Senate on current conditions, planned remedies, and the status of UNH plans regarding art facilities in general.

8. Provide an update on the installation of defibrillators (AEDs) in campus buildings and the progress of publicizing an online map showing AED unit locations (Senate motion XX-II-M9, passed 3-19-18).

9. Monitor the progress of adding two additional campus lactation rooms, one at Morse Hall room 121, and the other at 10 West Edge (Senate motion XX-M20, passed 4-25-16).

10. Continue monitoring the progress toward implementation of a UNH tobacco-free policy (Senate motion XXI-M13, passed 5-8-17).

Standing Charge
The charges from the Agenda Committee shall comprise the major and first-order work of the Campus Planning Committee. However, the Committee may pursue additional issues in pursuit of its mission, stated above. If the additional issue interferes with the timelines stated in the charges above, the Committee must receive permission from the Agenda Committee before proceeding. If the additional interest does not interfere with the established timelines, the Committee must inform the Agenda Committee.

Campus Planning Committee Membership 2018-19

  • Danielle Pillet-Shore, Communication, COLA, chair
  • Tom Ballestero, Civil & Environmental Engineering, CEPS
  • Joe Dwyer, Physics, CEPS
  • Marc Hiller, Health Management & Policy, CHHS
  • Ed Hinson, Mathematics & Statistics, CEPS
  • William Ross, Library
  • Tom Hemstock, School of Law
  • GSS representative
  • SS representatitve