Chair's Welcome

2023-2024 Faculty Senate Chair
Vidya Sundar
Associate Professor, Occupational Therapy Department

Welcome to the UNH Faculty Senate Web Site. The UNH Faculty Senate was created in February of 1996 as the successor to the UNH Academic Senate. The UNH Faculty Senate is composed of elected representatives from the Tenure Track and COCLEAR faculty in the departments within the College of Liberal Arts, College of Life Sciences and Agriculture, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, College of Health and Human Services, Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics, the Library, the College of Professional Studies, and the School of Law. Senators are elected for a two-year term.

The standing committees of the Faculty Senate include: Agenda Committee, Academic Affairs, Academic Program, Campus Planning, Finance and Administration, Information Technology, Library, Research and Public Service, and Student Affairs.  Permanent committees of the senate include Discovery, Professional Standards, and the University Curriculum and Academic Policies. Ad hoc committees are as determined by the Agenda Committee. Members of the Agenda Committee are elected by the full senate and consist of the Chair, the Vice Chair, three at-large members, and the past Chair. Committee membership is coordinated by the Agenda Committee.

The Faculty Senate will meet as indicted on the Faculty Senate calendar. Meetings are on Mondays from 3:10 to 5:00 p.m. and meet via Zoom.  All meetings are open to faculty members. Standing committees meet on alternating Mondays.

The Faculty Senate's mission in accordance with the 1966 Joint Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities (a joint statement of the American Association of University Professors, the American Council on Education, and the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges) is to develop and review policy regarding the academic mission of the University.

Statement from the provost's office regarding shared governance

Contact Information

Senate Chair, Vidya Sundar: Vidya.Sundar@unh.edu 
Senate Vice Chair, Jeff Halpern:  Jeffrey.Halpern@unh.edu
Administrative Coordinator:  faculty.senate@unh.edu