UNH FACULTY SENATE MOTION # XXIII – M13

on the IPCC Special Report on the impacts of global warming

- 1. Motion presenter: Scott Ollinger, member of the Research and Public Service Committee
- 2. Dates of Faculty Senate discussion: 01/28/2019, 02/11/2019

3. Motion:

Whereas, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) has issued a Special Report on the impacts of global warming and finds that adverse impacts on human and natural systems are already occurring at the current 1°C of warming and that risks will be much more severe and destructive at 2°C than previously projected and beyond the capacity of our societies to adapt, and

Whereas, the IPCC report recommends limiting global warming to 1.5° C and finds that this goal can be achieved if global greenhouse gas emissions are reduced to a target of 45% below 2010 levels over the next twelve years, and to carbon neutrality by 2050, and

Whereas, UNH has become a national leader in climate action and sustainability and has already developed an aggressive Climate Action Plan (WildCAP) that is on track with near term goals and seeks carbon neutrality by 2100.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

To urge the community of the University of New Hampshire, including faculty, staff, students and university leadership to collectively commit to adopting the IPCC goals of 45% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions from the 2010 baseline, by 2030, and net-zero emissions by 2050 as part of a revised UNH Climate Action Plan.

To urge the University of New Hampshire to develop and implement a plan to meet these goals through continued coordinated actions among students, staff, faculty, administration and community partners and in a manner that ensures that all members of the university community understand the urgency and importance of the issue, and

To urge the University of New Hampshire community to commit to providing its students with an education that prepares them to respond creatively and effectively to the unprecedented challenges outlined in the report, insuring that they have the skills to contribute to solutions in their professional and civic lives.

4. Senate action: The motion passed with 61 votes in favor, 1 vote opposed, and 1 abstention.

Senate Chair, Robert S. Smith

Forwarded to the following on February 26, 2019:

President James Dean

Provost Wayne Jones

P.T. Vasudevan, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Ted Kirkpatrick, Senior Vice Provost for Student Life and Dean of Students

Chris Clement, Vice President for Finance & Administration

Mica Stark. Associate Vice President and Chief Communications Office

Tom Kelly, Executive Director of the Sustainability Institute

All deans

All department chairs