Recognition celebrates athletes who won sled hockey gold at Paralympic Games

Monday, December 12, 2022
Award recipients from UNH and Northeast Passage

The University of New Hampshire was inducted into the Team USA Collegiate Impact Award Class of 2022 in recognition of four Northeast Passage sled hockey athletes earning gold medals as part of Team USA at the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing.

The 2022 class was celebrated during the National Football Foundation’s 64th Annual Awards celebration Dec. 6 in Las Vegas. The induction recognizes the top-contributing schools to Team USA’s performance at the 2022 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. UNH is one of four schools to be inducted into the inaugural class.

Team USA secured its fourth consecutive gold medal in sled hockey at the Paralympic Winter Games in March, and no college had more representation in Beijing – not only on the sled hockey roster but among all U.S. Paralympian athletes – than UNH.

At the 2022 games, Team USA was comprised of 17 Paralympians and 95 Olympians who had honed their skills through college athletics, a group that combined to represent 54 schools.

David Eustace, Noah Grove, Griffin LaMarre and Kyle Zych represented Northeast Passage. Grove was a student at UNH from 2017 to 2019, but all four have taken part in the Northeast Passage sled hockey program for several years.

There has been at least one athlete from the Northeast Passage program on every U.S. Paralympic roster since Team USA began competing in sled hockey at the 1998 games in Nagano, Japan.