Inventor, FIRST Founder to address 2018 graduates

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Dean Kamen

Inventor Dean Kamen will deliver the keynote address at UNH Manchester’s commencement Thursday, May 17, 2018.


Dean Kamen, renowned entrepreneur, inventor and holder of more than 440 U.S. and foreign patents, will deliver the keynote address at the University of New Hampshire at Manchester’s commencement ceremony Thursday, May 17, 2018.

“We’re pleased to welcome an inventor and entrepreneur of Dean Kamen’s stature as this year’s commencement speaker,” said UNH Manchester Dean Mike Decelle. “His passion and commitment has not only led to the development of many innovate medical devices that have expanded the frontiers of healthcare worldwide, but the founding of FIRST, an international organization dedicated to motivating the next generation to understand, use and enjoy science and technology. His career as well as his most recent efforts to make possible the commercial production of human tissues and organs will be an inspiration for our graduates.”

Kamen is the founding creator of the Advanced Regenerative Manufacturing Institute (ARMI), which will help build a new human tissue engineering industry centered in Manchester. UNH is leading the national education and workforce development activities for the effort.

Kamen has been inventing for decades, founding his first medical device company, AutoSyringe, Inc., to manufacture and market the first wearable infusion pump he invented while still in college. Following the sale of that company he founded DEKA Research and Development Corporation to develop inventions as well as provide research and development major corporate clients. His notable developments include the Segway, an advance prosthetic arm, a device for the treatment of T-Cell lymphoma and a home dialysis system. Kamen also founded FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) in 1989. This year alone FIRST will serve more than 300,000 people ages six to 18 in more than 60 countries.    

Kamen was awarded the National Medal of Technology by President Bill Clinton and was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame in 2005.