Alumni Association set to fete 11 in the spring

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Last spring, the Alumni Association general awards committee faced a daunting task: paring down some 150 worthy nominations to a list of 11 alumni award recipients. “We were astounded by the number of high-quality nominations we received, says committee chair Jennifer Higgins Pitre ’95, ’05G. “While it made our job quite challenging, it was a real honor to learn about the incredible accomplishments of so many our alumni.”

Five alums were selected to receive the Alumni Meritorious Service Award: Judy Kennedy ’62, Andrew Durette ’64, David King ’78, Christine Carberry ’82 and Michael Vlacich ’95. Betty Hoadley ’57 and Cory Schwartz ’82 were named to the Profile of Service Award. Three young alums—Tyler Walker ’08, Jocelyn Bissonnette ’09, and Taylor Chace ’11— were chosen for the Outstanding Recent Graduate Award. Randy Pierce ’88 will receive the Award of Excellence for Outstanding Achievement.

Together with the Charles Holmes Pettee Medal, the Alumni Association general awards celebrate UNH’s guiding value of service to the local community, the state of New Hampshire, the nation, and the world. This year’s recipients will be recognized with a formal reception in spring 2015.

Originally published by:

UNH Magazine, Fall 2014 Issue