University celebrates its two highest awards

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Lewis Feldstein and Marcy Carsey

On September 19, alumni and friends gathered to bestow the University of New Hampshire’s two highest honors on alumna Marcy Peterson Carsey ’66, ’88H and Lewis Feldstein. Carsey, the television producer behind such hit shows as “The Cosby Show,” “Mork and Mindy,” “Roxanne,” and “Third Rock From the Sun,” received the Hubbard Family Award. An honor that recognizes exceptional philanthropy, the award comes to Carsey less than a year after her commitment of a $20 million gift to establish the Carsey School of Public Policy at UNH. The former president of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation and a tireless advocate for community and civic engagement, Feldstein was recognized with the Charles Holmes Pettee Medal. Named after the UNH dean who served the college from 1876 until 1938, the Pettee Medal is awarded to a New Hampshire resident or former resident for outstanding accomplishment or distinguished service to the state, the nation or the world. Both Carsey and Feldstein have earned UNH honors before; Feldstein received the Hubbard Award in 2002 and Carsey was the Pettee Medal recipient in 1999.

Originally published by:

UNH Magazine, Fall 2014 Issue

Mark Bolton | Communications and Public Affairs