University Commission on Community, Equity and Diversity


To provide university-wide leadership in support of institutional diversity and a welcoming, inclusive campus. To recognize diversity as a source of excellence, enrichment, and strength for all members of the university community. The Commission’s efforts are to create a welcoming and inclusive campus grounded in mutual respect, nurtured by dialogue, and evidenced by a patter of civil interaction (Pres James Dean, email 7.8.19).
The Commission is formed around a common bond and a commitment to the advancement of historically marginalized/underrepresented groups, challenging stereotypes, eradicating systemic inequalities and oppression, and creating a campus climate of respect for all students, staff and faculty.

Mission of the University Commission on Community, Equity, and Diversity

To work collaboratively with the Inclusion Council and the CED Office on issues of diversity and inequity. To create working groups and committees involved in awareness-building programming; and submit proposals for services, policy changes and practices that build safer, more welcoming, universally accessible learning, working and living environments free of physical, programmatic and attitudinal barriers.

  • To monitor campus for both discriminatory incidents and evidence of progress, sharing issues/concerns with CED, and recommending action(s) to the Inclusion Council and other UNH governance groups.
  • To act as a resource/source for action items as identified by the President and/or other UNH governance groups.

2019-2020 Members

Shari Robinson, Co-Chair, Director, Psychological & Counseling Services
Mike Shuttic, Co-Chair, Director, Student Accessibility Services
Holly Cashman, Assoc Prof., Spanish, COLA
Paul Chiarantona, Programming Coordinator and Advisor, Office of International Students and Scholars
Monica Chiu, Interim Assoc Director, Office of Community, Equity and Diversity
Lu Ferrell, Assoc Director, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs
Liz Fowler, Research & Instructional Services Coordinator, Library,  PAT Council rep
Karen Gilbert, Director, Military and Veterans Services
Sumeyra Gok, Graduate Student, Graduate Student Senate Rep
Richard Haynes, Assoc Director of Admissions
Julia Kelley-Vail, Direct Services Coordinator, SHARPP
Kayode Lewis, Asst Dir, Fitness, Youth & Instructional Programs, Campus Rec
Jordan Long, Asst Athletic Director for Academic Support Services
Kimberly Marsh, Benefits Manager, Human Resources
Sharon McCrone, Interim Dean/Prof. of Mathematics
Riannon Nute, Career Counselor, Center for Career and Professional Success
Victoria Parker, Associate Dean, Paul College
Dawna Perez, Executive Director Academic Success, Director of TRIO, Student Support Services
Tamara Rury, Director of Undergraduate Programs, Paul College
Betty Schmid, Finance Administrative Coordinator, Advancement, OS Council Rep
Randy Schroeder, Assoc Director Trio Student Support Services
Jamie Silverstein, Coordinator of Fraternity and Sorority Life, MUB,
Avary Thorne, Assoc Coordinator, Women's and Gender Studies
Emily Whalen, Graduate Student, Graduate Student Senate Rep
Dawn Zitney, Wellness Educator/Counselor, Health and Wellness


Allyson Ryder, Director of Programs, Office of Community, Equity and Diversity