University Curriculum & Academic Policies Committee


UCAPC Charter


Standing Charges:

1. To serve as an appeals and fact-finding body to consider academic and curricular matters which have inter-college and/or campus-wide effects or which are likely to affect the quality or integrity of the realization of the university’s academic mission.

2. To advise the Faculty Senate on its findings and recommendations.

Additional Charge from the Faculty Senate Agenda Committee on October 13, 2021: 

SVPAA Kate Ziemer has proposed a new shared governance structure to enable proactive curricular innovations at the
undergraduate level across colleges and disciplines. Because the faculty responsibilities in this proposed governance
structure are similar to the responsibilities of UCAPC, the Faculty Senate Agenda Committee has recommended that
UCAPC trial the review process proposed by the SVPAA as a first step before any changes are made to the UCAPC

Therefore, the Senate Agenda Committee is charging UCACP to trial the review process by SVPAA Kate Ziemer for two
undergraduate curricular proposals.

As part of this trial, UCAPC shall invite the associate deans and the Registrar to participate.
The Agenda Committee is requesting a debrief and a report from the UCAPC at the end of the trial period to assist in
determining any permanent changes to faculty governance processes for undergraduate curriculum changes

University Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee Membership 2022-2023

Elected members:

  • Carmela Amato-Weirda,  Materials Science, CEPS to 07/1/23, Chair
  • Charles Zercher, Chemistry, CEPS to 7/1/25
  • May-Win Thein,  Mechanical Engineering CEPS to 07/1/24
  • Karen Collins, Kinesiology,  CHHS, to 7/1/23, on Fall sabbatical 
  • Vacant, CHHS, to 7/1/22
  • Alecia Magnifico,  English COLA to 7/1/24
  • David Bachrach, History, COLA, to 07/1/25
  • Vacant, COLA,  to 07/1/23
  • Estelle Hrabak,  MCBS, COLSA, to 07/1/23
  • Andrew Conroy, Agriculture, Nutrition, and Food Systems, COLSA, to 7/1/24
  • Jennifer Carroll,  Library to 7/1/25
  • Dan Innis, Hospitality Management and Marketing, PCBE to 7/1/24 
  • Vanessa Druskat, Management, PCBE to 07/1/25, 2022 Fall ProxyDev Dutta
  • Vacant,  UNH Franklin Pierce School of Law, to 7/1/24
  • Sean Tavares, Mechanical Engineering Technology, UNH Manchester, to 07/1/24

Faculty Senate representatives:  Requirement removed via FS Motion on 02/17/20 (

Student representatives (2021-22)

  • Sophia Spina, Student Body President, Student Senate Representative
  • Karla Onate Melecio, Chair, Graduate Student Senate,  Graduate Student Senate Representative

Ex Officio members:

  • Kim Babbitt, Chair of Academic Standards and Advising Committee
  • Kate Ziemer, Senior Vice Provsot of Academic Affairs