Excellence through Diversity Award Recipients


Prof Judy Sharkey Dr. Judy Sharkey, Associate Professor of Education and Associate Director of Teacher Education was presented the 2011 President’s Excellence through Diversity Faculty Award at the Annual Faculty Excellence Awards Celebration.

A member of the UNH faculty since 2001, she teaches, writes grants, conducts research, and supports outreach and engagement on the Durham and Manchester campuses.

Professor Sharkey cultivates a learning community where diversity is acknowledged and appreciated. She first encourages members of her community to consider the challenges that learners face when they are new to the English language. She then invites faculty, staff and students to offer their strengths to address these challenges.

As an instructor, Judy makes sure that her students immerse themselves in local community group projects. Students enrolled in EDUC 500 fulfill part of their course assignment observing at the adult education center at Manchester School of Technology where adult ESOL students receive literacy instruction.

As a leader for the needs of English language learners in K-12 classrooms, she prepares teachers for culturally and linguistically diverse student populations. Her impressive inroads on access for ESOL students in our Manchester public school system includes the education of future ESOL teachers. Additionally, she offers literacy instruction to the parents of the children at a housing project and supports summer ESOL programs. In all of these community actions, she has cultivated a respect for cultural and linguistic diversity in NH and is recognized for this work by colleagues and students alike.

Her nominators said, “I am often moved to action by her energy.” “To be in Judy’s presence is to be reminded of the meaning of respectful and civil discourse and what it means to live by the standard of inclusive excellence in teaching and service.”


Past Recipients

2010 Award Recipients

  • Sean McGhee - Staff Award

2009 Award Recipients

  • John Nimmo - Faculty Award
  • Margaret Pobywajlo - Staff Award

2008 Award Recipients

  • Monica Chiu - Faculty Award
  • Richard Haynes - Staff Award

2007 Award Recipients

  • David Watters - Faculty Award
  • Mark Rubinstein - Staff Award