Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Evening of Distinction

A lifelong advocate for individuals living with disabilities and a couple committed to university athletics recently received UNH's most prestigious awards for their history of support and service to the university and the state.

Jere Lundholm ’53 and Harriet Forkey ’54, ’67G were presented with the Hubbard Family Award for Service to Philanthropy. The award recognizes individuals whose philanthropic leadership and gifts have strengthened UNH and/or who have promoted philanthropy throughout the state. Lundholm and Forkey were founding members and co-chairs of the UNH sports gallery project, a photographic display located in the Field House that represents men and women’s sports teams from 1894 to the president.

Donald Shumway, former president and CEO of the Crotched Mountain Foundation, was awarded the Charles Holmes Pettee Medal, given to honor the kind of devotion to service shown by the medal's namesake, the late Dean Charles Pettee, who, beginning in 1876, served the college for 62 years.

In addition, Jean Mitchell, a 42-year employee of the university, received the profile of service award and Staff Sgt. Ryan Pitts ’13, recipient of the Medal of Honor, our nation’s highest and most prestigious military decoration, received the outstanding recent graduate award. All four awards were presented at the university’s annual “Evening of Distinction,” held in the MUB Granite State Room on Oct. 3.

Evening of Distinction honorees

Jeremy Gasowski | Communications and Public Affairs | | 603-862-4465