A roundup of recent awards

Monday, March 25, 2019
UNH campus

Larry Mayer, director of UNH’s Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping, has been named a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Mayer is among 175 foreign members of the academy, best known for granting the Nobel Prize.

Wheeler Ruml, professor of computer science, has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. Ruml, whose research in artificial intelligence has led to 17 U.S. and 12 foreign patents, joins the 2018 class of 148 fellows.

Deborah Merrill-Sands, dean of the Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics, has been selected as one of the NH Business Review’s six Outstanding Women in Business for 2019.

Elyse Hambacher, assistant professor of education, was named a 2019 Emerging Scholar by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education. The honor recognizes “an interdisciplin- ary group of minority scholars who represent the very best of the U.S. Academy.”

Sachiko Akiyama, assistant professor of art and art history, received the 2018 Piscataqua Region Artist Advancement Grant from the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. The award is one of the largest unrestricted grants in the country awarded to a single artist.

The New England Regional Office of the Environmental Protection Agency has honored James Houle, program manager of the UNH Stormwater Center, and the UNH Center for Freshwater Biology with its Environmental Merit Awards. Houle and the center, led by professor of biological sciences Jim Haney, were among 28 recipients from across the region recognized for their work to protect New England’s environment.

Aria S. Halliday, assistant professor in the women’s studies program, was accepted to Duke University’s Summer Institute on Tenure and Professional Advancement, designed to help minority faculty further their academic careers.

Kevin Healey, associate professor of communication, was awarded a $10,000 grant from the Institute of Buddhist Studies to expand his research in contemplative media studies. He was one of 16 scholars and journalists to receive support to address the impacts of technologies on human relationships.

Michael Leese, assistant professor of history, was awarded a Harvard University Loeb Classical Library Foundation Fellowship to complete his second book. The Loeb Foundation supports research, publication and other projects in classical studies.

Six members of the faculty from CEPS, COLA, COLSA and UNH Law were honored with 2018 Presidential Chairs and Professorship Awards. Presidential Chairs were awarded to history professor Ellen Fitzpatrick, space plasma physics professor Nathan Schwadron and molecular, cellular and biomedical sciences professor W. Kelley Thomas.

Mechanical and ocean engineering professor Diane Foster was recognized with the Class of 1940 Professorship for outstanding interdisciplinary teaching and research. Jesse Stabile Morrell, principal lecturer of agriculture, nutrition and food systems, received the Roland H. O’Neal Professorship. UNH law professor Sophie Sparrow received the Class of 1938 Professorship.

Scott Ripley | Communications and Public Affairs | scott.ripley@unh.edu | 603-862-1855