Sunday, March 4, 2018

Harlan Spence

Harlan Spence, professor of physics and director of the Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space, was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS recognized Spence for his “distinguished contributions to space exploration, the development of instruments to characterize the radiation intensity in space and for continued leadership in the heliophysics community.”


Eleanor Harrison-Buck

Eleanor Harrison-Buck, associate professor of anthropology, received a Whiting Public Engagement Fellowship to establish a public history museum in Belize that focuses on the Kriol (Creole) community.


Brad Kinsey, professor of mechanical engineering, was named a fellow of the Society of Mechanical Engineers.


Art Greenberg, professor of chemistry, was named a fellow of the American Chemical Society, and Wayne Jones, dean of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, was elected to its board of directors.


Mary Schuh, director of development and consumer affairs at UNH’s Institute on Disability, received the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr., Foundation Public Policy Fellowship.


Larry Mayer

Larry Mayer, director of UNH’s Center for Coastal and Ocean mapping and the School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. He was also appointed to the U.S. Arctic Research Commission and inducted into the Hydrographic Society of America’s Hydrographer Hall of Fame.


Andrew Earle, assistant professor of strategic management and entrepreneurship in the Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics, was honored with a Presidential Responsible Research in Management Award from the International Association for Chinese Management Research for an article he co-authored on encouraging “green chemistry.”


Patricia Halpin

The American Physiological Society recognized Patricia Halpin, assistant professor of biological sciences and biotechnology at UNH Manchester, with the 2017 New Investigator Award.


Charles Simic, professor emeritus of English, was named the 2017 Golden Wreath award winner of Struga Poetry Evenings.


John Aber, professor of natural resources, received the Lifetime Environmental Merit Award from the Environmental Protection Agency’s New England office.


Knezevic and Yu

Marko Knezevic, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, and Qiaoyan Yu, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, received Faculty Early Career Development Program, or CAREER, awards from the National Science Foundation.