Tuesday, December 8, 2015

In October, J. Michael Hickey ’73, interim dean at UNH Manchester, became the 26th inductee in the New Hampshire Business Review (NHBR) Business Excellence Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame, which honors individuals whose careers are distinguished by accomplishments both in business and in the community, recognized Hickey’s four-plus decades in the New Hampshire business community as well as his contributions to the social, civic and cultural infrastructure of the Granite State.

UNH Law professor John Garvey received the New Hampshire Bar Association’s 2015 Distinguished Service to the Legal Profession Award for a unique program that permits qualified scholars to skip the bar exam. Garvey, director of the law school’s Daniel Webster Scholars Honors Program, has developed a program that provides hands-on practice and allows law students to be trained and evaluated over a two-year period.  

Ruth Varner ‘93G, ’00G has been awarded the American Geophysical Union’s 2015 Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring. An associate professor of biogeochemistry at the UNH Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space and the department of earth sciences, Varner was recognized for her original and creative research program as well as her extraordinary record of mentoring students, particularly undergraduates and women in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.

Psychology professor Benjamin Harris received the 2015 Lifetime Achievement award from the Society for the History of Psychology, a division of the American Psychological Association. The award recognizes individuals who have made sustained, outstanding and unusual contributions to the history of psychology over the course of their careers; Harris has written widely on the history of behaviorism, psychology in the mass media and the politics of psychiatry.


Originally published in UNH MagazineFall 2015 Issue