ADVANCE Program Awards Grants to Women in Leadership, Collaborations in Science

Thursday, August 9, 2012
Bookmark and Share

Julia Bryce

Julia Bryce

New grants will help three female faculty members maintain critical research while assuming leadership roles within the university. Julia Bryce, associate professor of Earth sciences, Jennifer Jacobs, professor of civil engineering, and Alynna Lyon, associate professor of political science, have received 2012 Karen Von Damm Leadership Development Grants from the UNH ADVANCE program.

Jennifer Jacobs

Jennifer Jacobs

The grants, funded with support from the National Science Foundation, are part of an ongoing effort to support the advancement and leadership of women faculty in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines at UNH. They are administered through the Leitzel Center for Mathematics, Science, and Engineering Education at UNH and honor Von Damm, a world-renowned UNH chemical oceanographer who passed away in August 2008.

Alynna Lyon

Alynna Lyon

For Bryce, this grant will allow her to continue the development of her scholarly work while serving as department chair in Earth Sciences, ultimately enhancing her leadership role at the university and within the geosciences community. Among the work she will pursue with this award is submitting research papers that describe findings begun by Von Damm.

The award will provide support to Jacobs for research and teaching projects while she continues to serve as faculty lead in the next phase of the creation of the School of Earth and Environment at UNH. “Without the grant, I will likely resign from my current leadership role,” Jacobs said. “This is a rare opportunity, and rarer still for a woman, to co-lead a major change in the structure of this university.”

Lyon, a political scientist whose research strives to make bridges between hard science and social sciences, recently assumed a leadership role as graduate director for the Master of Arts and Master of Public Administration programs in the political science department. The Karen Von Damm grant will provide support for her teaching while she fulfills this role and completes a book examining “United States Relations with the United Nations in an Era of Globalization.”

In addition, the UNH ADVANCE program awarded the Collaborative Scholarship Advancement Awards, designed to enhance collaboration between research and tenure-track faculty in the STEM disciplines, to the following teams:

Rosemarie Came, assistant professor of Earth sciences, and Tom Lippmann, research associate professor of Earth sciences, to collaboratively study the link between Milankovitch forcing and changes in the intensity of the Indian monsoon over the past 100,000 years—a geochemical time series approach.

Mary Stampone, assistant professor of geography, and Cameron Wake, research associate professor of Earth sciences and the Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space (EOS), to enhance scholarly collaboration on New England climate change. They will establish a research, teaching, and engagement program on New England climate change.

Jo Sias Daniel, associate professor of civil engineering, and Paul Kirshen, research professor of civil engineering and EOS, to study climate change adaptation for coastal roads. They will look at the benefits and costs of various adaptation methods for coastal roads, with an emphasis on the roles of pavement materials and pavement thickness.

Ruth Varner, research associate professor, Earth sciences and EOS, and Joel Johnson, associate professor, Earth sciences, to document an in situ sediment source of methane in the Great Bay Estuary, NH: "Assessing the role of estuaries in the global methane cycle." Along with their research collaboration, they will develop a teaching module for training students in field sampling tools and techniques, sampling protocols, and sample storage.

Originally published by:

UNH Today