AY2013/14 GSS Officers

President: Ian Cohen

Ian is a PhD candidate in the Physics department. In addition to serving as President of the GSS, Ian sits on the Graduate Council and is the GSS's representative to the UNH Alumni Association Board of Directors and the Planning Committee for the new School of Public Policy. He previously served two terms as the GSS's External Affairs Officer.

email: ian.cohen@unh.edu


Vice-President: Joe Gilbert

Joe is in the Linguistics Masters program. He previously served as a College of Liberal Arts Senator. He chairs our Governance Committee and is on Graduate Council, the Health Insurance Advisory Committee, and Faculty Senate's Student Affairs Committee.
email: jpg5@wildcats.unh.edu

Clerk: Dan Tran

Dan Tran: Dan is a PhD candidate in Physics. This is his second term as GSS Clerk. Dan is a part of the cosmic ray research group in the Earth, Oceans and Space Institute. He serves on the Governance Committee and the Transportation Policy & Transit Advisory Committee.

email: dan.tran@wildcats.unh.edu


Treasurer: Deanna Silva

Deanna is a Masters' student in Chemistry. She previously served two terms as a Senator for the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences. As Treasurer, she chairs the GSS's Financial Affairs Committee and Central Budget Committee. She also serves on the Hamel Recreation Center Building Committee.

email: dmr55@wildcats.unh.edu

External Affairs Officer: John McClain

John is a PhD student in Applied Mathematics. He previously served two terms as GSS Treasurer. He currently represents UNH graduate students on the USNH Board of Trustees and the University System Student Board.

email: jfi46@unh.edu


Programs Coordinator: Madhav Baral

Madhav is a Masters student in the Mechanical Engineering Department. As Programs Coordinator, Madhav chairs the Programming Committee, which is responsible for creating and organizing social and community service events for UNH graduate students.

email: mb13@wildcats.unh.edu

AY2013/14 GSS Senators (and their constituencies)

College of Liberal Arts

College of Life Sciences and Agriculture

  • Brianna Isenberg

    • Animal & Nutritional Sciences (PhD), Animal Sciences (MS), Biochemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Natural Resources, Nutritional Science, Plant Biology, Resource Administration, and Zoology

College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

  • Harrison Roakes

    • Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, and Systems Engineering

  • Surupa Shaw

    • Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Materials Science, Ocean Engineering, and Physics

College of Health and Human Services

  • Myles Lynch

    • Family Studies, Health Management/Public Policy, Kinesiology, Recreation Management & Policy, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, and Social Work

Paul College of Business and Economics

  • Mica Kurtz

    • Accounting and Finance, Business Administration, and Economics

Programs in UNH Graduate School

  • Matt Smith

    • College Teaching, Development Policy & Practice, Environmental Education, Geospatial, NRESS

UNH Manchester

  • Thomas Cronin

    • Social Work, Business Administration, Computer Technology, Education, and Public Administration (at Manchester)

Babcock Hall

Senators are still needed from CHHS and the Forest Park housing units. If you're interested in serving, email grad.student.senate@unh.edu.