Related Links

The Whittemore School of Business and Economics

UNH's Whittemore School of Business and Economics' Hooding Ceremony Celebrates 2003 Graduates

By Denise Hart
UNH News Bureau

May 15, 2003

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire's Whittemore School of Business and Economics will hold its annual graduate programs hooding ceremony Friday, May 23, 2003. Students will be awarded hoods commemorating the Master of Business Administration, the Master of Arts in Economics, or the Master of Science in Accounting.

The ceremony begins at 1:30 p.m. in the Johnson Theater at the Paul Creative Arts Center on the Durham campus. The graduates will be hooded by Steven Bolander, dean of the Whittemore School and David Hiley, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Featured speaker for the ceremony will be Aaron Feuerstein, president and CEO of the family-owned Malden Mills Industries, Inc.

Under Feuerstein's leadership, the Lawrence, Massachusetts-based company, founded by his grandfather, has experienced tremendous growth during the last four decades evolving from a domestic mill to an international textile supplier of Polartec® and Polarfleece® fabrics. He is known for introducing and integrating technological advances in the company's operations that increase its market advantage, including a computerized dyeing facility and computer-aided design station for printing. Today, Malden Mills is the largest employer in Lawrence, with over 1,200 employees and annual sales of $160 million.

New Hampshire residents graduating with MBA degrees next week are: Henry Benner, Amherst; Jeffrey Rapsis and Christopher Jeffery Ware, Bedford; Matthew Todd Avery and Charles Galemmo, Dover; Mary Ellen Brew and John Donahue, Chester; Renee Elizabeth Carey and Brian Lavoie, Concord; Sean Doody, Durham; Claudia Eleodora Cortina, Exeter; Matthew Grant Scruton, Farmington; Timothy Ralph Barton and Richard Anthony Delano, Hampton Falls; James Sullivan II, Londonderry; T. Kate Thivierge, Manchester; George Andrew Fitch III and Kathleen Parnell, Merrimack; Bobby Jett, Nashua; Nancy Adams, Newmarket; Dave Masison, Northwood; Audrey Kennoch, Portsmouth; Jatinder Sappal, Rochester; Douglas Neathawk, Rollinsford; Christopher Webb, Somersworth; Douglas McClellan, Windham.

MBA degrees will also go to Mesbah Creitz, Rameldange, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg; Xiaoqin Dong, Beijing, People's Republic of China; Emily Eskelinen, Marshfield, Wis.; Lisa Neihart, Eliot, Maine; John St. Onge, Arundel, Maine; Chen Sun, Beijing, People's Republic of China;Wan-Kyu Park, Seoul, South Korea; Kelly Pethic O'Loughlin, Kittery Point, Maine; John Rademacher, West Hartford, Conn.; Yu Su, Changsha, Hunan, People's Republic of China; Doug Wilson, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada; Eugene Zakharov, Minsk, Belarus and Londonderry.

The Master of Arts in Economics degree will be awarded to Andrea Kutinova, Prague, Czech Republic and Edinaldo Tebaldi, Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil.

The Master of Science in Accounting degree will be awarded to Scott Berube, Nashua; Karianne Cuddihee, Dublin; Mckenzie Glennon, Hampton; Barry Paolino, Windham; Jeffrey Senulis, Grand Island, NY; Marijka Vander Pol, Fairhaven, Mass.

For more information about the ceremony, telephone 862-1367 or contact Joanne Quinones Reed at or Rachel Hopkins at:

Back to UNH News Bureau