Related Links

UNH Alumni Association

Five Alumni Elected to UNH Alumni Association Board of Directors

By Meg Torbert
UNH Alumni Affairs

June 25, 2003

DURHAM, N.H.- Three UNH alumni were re-elected to the University of New Hampshire Alumni Association board of directors, and two additional alumni were elected to the board for the first time in the recent 2003 annual election by UNH alumni.

Richard Ashoosh
Lynne Curtis Butcher
Norris A. Browne
Scott C. MacDonald
Timothy M. Riley

Re-elected to the 22-member board for three-year terms were Lynne Curtis Butcher of San Francisco, Calif., Scott C. MacDonald of Porter, Ind., and Timothy M. Riley of Bedford.

Butcher, a member of the Class of 1969, graduated with a degree in economics. She is the managing director of Curtis & Company in San Francisco and was director of the International Society of Transport Aircraft Trading from 1997 to 2000. She was also a director on the UNH Foundation Board from 1996 to 1999.

MacDonald graduated Phi Beta Kappa from UNH in 1990 with a degree in economics, and also earned an M.B.A. from MIT's Sloan School in 1994. He is vice president for corporate planning of NiSource, Inc., in Merrillville, Ind.

Riley is a certified financial planner and senior partner with The Harbor Group, Inc., in Bedford. A member of the Class of 1976, he earned a degree in leisure management from UNH and a master's from the College for Financial Planning in Colorado in 1993.

Elected to the board for the first time were Richard Ashooh, also of Bedford, and Norris A. Browne of Wilton, Conn.

Ashooh, vice president of legislative affairs for BAE Systems in Nashua, earned two bachelor degrees (political science and communication) from UNH in 1986. While a student he was a member of the UNH Student Senate; and after graduation was a member of the Washington, D.C., area alumni chapter from 1989 to 1992; a member of the Friends of UNH Crew from 1992 to 1996; and a member of the New Hampshire Industrial Research Center Oversight Committee from 1994 to 1997. In community service, he has been a member of the New Hampshire Public Television Board of Trustees; a member of the Franklin Pierce College Board of Trustees; chair of the Christa McAuliffe Planetarium Commission; a member of the Library and Archives of New Hampshire's Political Traditions; a panel member of the Task Force on Educational Adequacy in 1998; past president of the Adult Learning Center Board of Directors from 1998 to 2002; and regional vice president of the National Association of Manufacturers' National Public Affairs Steering Committee from 1999 to 2002. He is currently an Advisory Committee member for the Adequate Education and Education Financing Commission.

Browne, a principal with the Browne Machinery Company in Wilton, Conn., earned a degree in mechanical engineering from UNH in 1955. He has been a member of the Advisory
Board to the UNH Mechanical Engineering Department; a supporter of the UNH Athletic Council; acting president of the Class of 1955; chair of the class's fifth reunion; vice president of Theta Chi; president of the Interfraternity Council; a member of Blue Key; and played football and lacrosse at UNH. He received the Class of 1889 Award. Browne is also a member of the American Society of Manufacturing Engineers.

Back to UNH News Bureau