UNH Whittemore School of Business and Economics

UNH WSBE Graduate and Executive Programs


UNH Business School Salutes Class of '02 Graduates

By Janet Lathrop
UNH News Bureau

May 20, 2002

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire's Whittemore School of Business and Economics will hold its annual hooding ceremony to honor 62 graduates from six states and five foreign countries Friday, May 24, at 2:30 p.m. in the Strafford Room at the Memorial Union Building on campus. Students will receive hoods commemorating the M.B.A., M.A. or Ph.D. in Economics, and M.S. in accounting degrees.

John Hallowell, a 1977 Whittemore School graduate and president of the hospitality group for the Colonial Williamsburg Company, is the featured speaker. Graduates will be hooded by Associate Dean James Wible of the Whittemore School and Bruce Mallory, dean of the UNH graduate school.

As head of Colonial Williamsburg's hospitality business, Hallowell supervises five hotels, seven restaurants and four colonial dining taverns near the 301-acre historic area in Virginia. Hallowell is a certified teacher of Stephen Covey's Seven Habits of Highly Effective People and Principle-Centered Leadership.

New Hampshire residents graduating with M.B.A. degrees next week are Michele Leigh Almeida and Daniel P. Blake, Londonderry; John J. Caucis and Jeff C. Wituszynski, Somersworth; Kay Justice Cichon, Dover; Sheri L. Fournier, Belmont; David Michael Wilson, Bow; Jesse David Harris, Rochester; Birtley Q. Locke Jr., New Boston; Matthew J. Macarty, Barrington; Michael Souliere, Robert Campbell Weskerna, Sean Patrick Clarke, Timothy Dolan, Robert Marchewka and James E. Siedenburg, all of Portsmouth; Cynthia Wentzell and Gary C. Muzzey, Newmarket; Douglas Abbott, Joseph Baker, Peter J. Hooker, Christopher Alexander Richmond and Cathryn C. Simard of Manchester; Robert Boyd, Amherst; Dennis Bridgeman, Lee; Stephen H. Coolidge, Epping; Mark Eric Dwyer and Donald Ware, Merrimack; Daniel R. Erickson, Brad Ernest and Sharon Ernest of Hooksett; James M. McIlroy, Newfields; Marie A. Mullen, Pembroke; James Joseph Seagraves, Nashua; James Trowell, Greenland; Senthil Kumar Sowrirajan, Concord; and Marc Lajeunesse of Concord and Ottawa, Canada.

M.B.A .degrees also will go to Jayson Eric Allain, Sanford, Maine; Alan Bernier, Braintree, Mass.; Timothy G. Butler, Arundel, West Sussex, U.K.; Daniel de Araujo Mamede, Fortaleza, Brazil; Bruce Allen Sommer, Springfield, Ill.; Christopher S. Butler, North Providence, R.I.; Carol Jean Pouliot, Newburyport, Mass.; Yang Bai Lanzhou, Ganzu, Juan Liu Tonggu, Jiangxi, and Ying Tian Harbin, Heilongjiang, all from the Peoples' Republic of China (PRC).

The Doctor of Philosophy in Economics will be awarded to Timothy Ford, Malden, Mass.; Mustafa Oktem, Ankara, Turkey; and Flavio Vilela Vieira, Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil. The Master of Arts in Economics will be awarded to Gregory Blackmore, Barrington; Sunil Pokharel, Nashua; Anthony Penta, Seattle, Wash.; Nevin Cavosoglu, Ankara, Turkey. And from the PRC are Ke Li, Shanghai; Minghua Li, Tianjin; Jidong Zhang, Pingdingshan, Henan; and Liping Zheng, Beijing.

The Master of Science in Accounting will be awarded to Nicole Marie DeStefano, Derry; Gregory Hayes, Plaistow; Matthew A. Phillips, Kearsage; Brandon R. Sutton, Rochester; Laura M. Zerbinopoulos, Dover; and Guixia Liu, Beijing, PRC.

For more information about the ceremony, contact Joanne Quinones Reed, 862-3378, or e-mail: jqreed@unh.edu. Information also is available at www.mba.unh.edu.

Back to UNH News Bureau