UNH Department of Nursing

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing


UNH Inducts First International Members into Nursing Honor Society

27 Local Members Also Inducted

By Sharon Keeler
UNH News Bureau

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire's Department of Nursing recently inducted the first international members into its Eta Iota Chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

The new inductees are Marina Boykova, Marina Gaeva, Marina Tsutsunava and Alexandra Volodin from Medical College #1 in St. Petersburg, Russia, and David Clarke, from the University of Leeds in the United Kingdom.

UNH's partnership with St. Petersburg was founded in 1994 with the goal of helping Russia develop pre- and post-diploma nursing education. The four Russian inductees are recent graduates of Medical College #1. Clarke was a visiting lecturer at UNH during the spring semester.

"Sigma Theta Tau is the only nursing honor society whose mission is to improve the health of people worldwide by promoting nursing scholarship and leadership," says Dorothy Rentschler, associate professor of nursing and president of the Eta Iota Chapter. "One of the society's goals is to increase international members."

Sigma Theta Tau has 400 chapters and a quarter-million members, which includes practicing nurses, educators, researchers, policy-makers, administrators and entrepreneurs.

Local Inductees

The five international nurses were joined at this year's ceremony by 27 local inductees composed of UNH undergraduate and graduate students, as well as community members. They include:

  • Undergraduate Students -- Elizabeth Bovaird of Manchester, Kristen Byrne of Hudson, Allison Hannifan of Reading, Mass., Kelley Swanson of Derry, and Janet Young of Stratham.

  • RN to BSN Students -- Peter Amari of Lowell, Mass., Judith Currie of New London, Patricia Graffum of Grantham, Jacqueline Houle of Somersworth, Annette Marden of Londonderry, Vickie McCassie of Amesbury, Mass., Sandra Ruka of Center Conway; and Heather Bouchard.

  • Graduate Students -- Regina DiCicco of Newton, Susan Fichera of Plaistow, Anne Howe of Sanbornton, Priscilla Merrill of Northwood, Patricia Morgan of York, Maine, Carol Renouf of E. Hampstead, Georgina Rodriguez-LaPage of Portsmouth; and Kristin Getschmann.

  • Community Members -- Julie Bailey of Hampton, Debra Samaha of Concord, Martha Arguelles, Sandy Collins, Susan Jennison, and Margaret Walker.
  • Award Recipients

    Several awards were also presented at the spring celebration. Recipients include Donna Pare of Exeter Hospital, Excellence in Service to Eta Iota; Mary Ann Cioffi of Concord Hospital, Excellence in Leadership; Gene Harkless, UNH associate professor of nursing, Excellence in Research and Education; Carol Williams-Bernard, UNH associate professor of nursing, Excellence in Mentorship; Vanessa Quinn, Judith Currie and Laurie McCray, Outstanding Student Achievement; Susan Ruka, Student Research; and Jeanie Holt, UNH graduate, Community Research.

    June 8, 2000

    Back to unh.edu.