Take a Discovery Cruise into Great Bay or out to the Isles of Shoals
Media Contact:  Rebecca Zeiber
603-749-1565
NH Sea Grant
June 2, 2008

Reporters and editors: Members of the media are invited to join any Discovery Cruise (see schedule below). Contact Dari Ward at 603.749.1565 or dari.ward@unh.edu for more information.


DURHAM, N.H.-Join the University of New Hampshire Marine Docents this summer for a day cruise aboard the university's research vessel, the R/V Gulf Challenger. Find out what UNH researchers are learning about the marine and estuarine environments, and get up close and personal with coastal creatures and local history.

Learn about the history of New Hampshire's seacoast aboard the Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruise. The Shoals Cruise includes a hike around Appledore Island and a tour of the Shoals Marine Lab. Or choose the Great Bay Discovery Cruise, which travels up the Piscataqua River into Little Bay/Great Bay Estuary. Marine Docents will lead activities such as catching plankton and testing water quality. The Great Bay Cruise also stops for a tour of the UNH Jackson Estuarine Laboratory.

Cruises depart from a different location this year. The boat will leave from the Shoals Marine Lab Burge dock, located next to the Isles of Shoals Steamship Company on Market Street in Portsmouth. Parking for the cruises will be in the Hanover Street Parking Garage for the usual hourly cost. Children ages 10 and older are welcome with an adult. Space is limited. For more information or to make a reservation, go to www.unh.edu/marine-education.

Discovery Cruises are sponsored by NH Sea Grant and UNH Cooperative Extension.

Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruise:
(includes a stop at Appledore Island and Shoals Marine Laboratory)
From 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Admission: $40.00

Saturday June 28
Saturday July 5
Sunday July 6
Saturday July 12
Saturday August 2
Sunday August 3
Sunday August 17
Sunday August 24

Great Bay Discovery Cruise:
(Includes a stop at Jackson Estuarine Laboratory)
From 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Admission: $22.00

Tuesday July 15
Saturday July 19
Sunday July 20
Saturday August 23

(Dates and availability are subject to change.)

 

-30-

 

email this page!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button