Amherst Fourth-Grader Named State's 2006 Robert Frost Youth Poet
Contact:  Lori Wright
UNH Media Relations
June 13, 2006

DURHAM, N.H. -- Sarah Regan, a fourth-grader at the Harold H. Wilkins Elementary School in Amherst, has been named the 2006 Robert Frost Youth Poet for New Hampshire. Regan, a student in Janet Scagnelli’s class, was named the state’s top poet after submitting her winning poem, “Hay Fever.”

The Robert Frost Youth Poet Program offers New Hampshire fourth-graders in public and private schools the opportunity to express their feelings about New Hampshire in a poem. The sponsors of the program hope to increase appreciation of the state's natural and cultural resources, and encourage students to discover the poets in themselves.

Regan’s poem was selected from the 600 poems submitted to the 2006 Robert Frost Youth Poet Program, sponsored by the Trustees of the Robert Frost Homestead and the University of New Hampshire Library.

Hay Fever

Muscles clenching as hay swiftly flies
Dust and dirt caked in my eyes
Stab it.
Grab it.

A job well done is half begun
Tomorrow I will do more before
the rising sun.

As I walk in the silence of the empty barn,
My throbbing footsteps echo, but do me no harm.

Tomorrow is another day
Through the birch trees, the barn
awaits for me to toss the hay.

The judges also selected County Poets and Honorable Mention Poets: Belknap County Poet, Kelsy Buckley; Belknap County Honorable Mention, Demi Remick; Carroll County—No entries this year; Cheshire County Poet, Ivy Pepin; Cheshire County Honorable Mention, Billy Scanlon; Coos County Poet, Samantha Paquin; Coos County Honorable Mention, Kaitlin B. Wood; Grafton County Poet, Nathalie Ferneau; Grafton County Honorable Mention, Hunter Schon; Hillsborough County Poet, Isabelle Slattery; Hillsborough County Honorable Mention, Tristan Close; Merrimack County Poet, Daniel Vignati; Merrimack County Honorable Mention, Andrew Werktein; Rockingham County Poet, Hanna McLean; Rockingham County Honorable Mention, Shannon Finney; Strafford County Poet, Tyler Farrow; Sullivan County Poet, Molly Adams; Sullivan County Honorable Mention, Emily Morison. Full texts of all the winning poems can be viewed at

For more information on the Robert Frost Youth Poet Program contact David Watters, director of the Center for New England Culture at UNH, professor of English, and co-editor of The Encyclopedia of New England, at 603-862-3983 or