COLA

Reginald Wilburn, Associate Dean, reginald.wilburn@unh.edu, 603-862-2062

Kevin Sousa, Academic  Affairs Coordinator, kevin.sousa@unh.edu, 603-862-2062, 110 Murkland Hall

 

Major Advising Contact Declaration/Application Rule

Anthropology

Meghan Howey
meghan.howey@unh.edu
313 Huddleston Hall
603-862-2518

  • Complete at least one 400 or 500-level ANTH course with "C" or better

Deadline: No specific deadline

Arts, The

Prof. Eileen Wong
art-arthistory@unh.edu
30 Academic Way
603-862-3820

Art History: Open

Studio Art: Complete ARTS 532 with C or better

BFA:

  • Submit a portfolio 
  • Complete at least one art history course

Deadline: No specific deadline

Classics

Prof. Stephan Trzaskoma
s.trzaskoma@unh.edu
Murkland 306
603-862-3648

  • Complete or be enrolled in a LATN or GREK coruse
  • Get permission from a member of the faculty

Communication

Andrew Sharp
andrew.sharp@unh.edu
Horton 130A
603-862-2991

  • Overall GPA of 2.00 or higher
  • Attend a mandatory application meeting
  • Application form and online change of major request

Deadline: Applications accepted only one week per semester  (generally the fourth or fifth week of the semester -- official dates posted on the department's website)

Education
(not a major)

Cindy Glidden
cindy.glidden@unh.edu
Morrill 209A
603-862-2310

Not a major. Is a minor and a graduate program. Contact department for details.

English

English Literature

English Teaching

English Text, Business Writing & Digital Studies

 

English
Carla Cannizzaro
carla.c@unh.edu
603-862-3970

English Literature & Teaching
Prof. James Krasner

james.krasner@unh.edu
603-862-1877

  • Complete ENGL 419 with "C" or better or be enrolled in ENGL 419

Deadline: No specific deadline

English/Journalism

Prof. Lisa Miller
lc.miller@unh.edu
603-862-0251

 

  • Complete ENGL 534

Deadline: No specific deadline

French

Prof. Nadine Berenguier
nadine.berenguier@unh.edu
Murkland 210K

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

French Studies

Prof. Nadine Berenguier
nadine.berenguier@unh.edu
Murkland 210K

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

Geography

Prof. Mary Stampone
mary.stampone@unh.edu
Huddleston 102A
603-862-3136

  • Meet with department for approval

Deadline: No specific deadline

 

German

Prof. Edward Larkin
etl@unh.edu
Murkland 210C

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

History

Laura Simard
laura.simard@unh.edu
Horton 405
603-862-1764

  • Encouraged: complete two HIST courses with "C-" or better
  • Or, be enrolled in two HIST courses

Deadline: No specific deadline

Italian Studies

Prof. Piero Garofalo
Murkland 321
piero.garofalo@unh.edu
603-862-3769

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

 

Linguistics

Prof. Rochelle Lieber
rochelle.lieber@unh.edu
603-862-3964

  • Meet with department for approval

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/linguistics/declaring-major

Music & Music Education

Susan Adams
susan.adams@unh.edu
Paul Creative Arts Center
603-862-2404

  • Audition required
  • Meet with department for approval

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/music/declaring-major

Neuroscience and Behavior

Susan Moore
susan.moore@unh.edu
468 McConnell Hall
603-862-2360

  • 3.2 GPA

Contact department for details

Philosophy

Nick Smith
philosophy@unh.edu
603-862-2060

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

Political Science

Marcie Anderson
marcie.anderson@unh.edu
Horton 321
603-862-1751

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

Psychology

Susan Moore
susan.moore@unh.edu
468 McConnell Hall
603-862-2360

Complete PSYC 401 and PSYC 402 with "C" or better

Deadline: Students can declare the major at any time once they have met minimum criteria with the exception of the months of November and April.

Russian

Prof. Arna Bronstein
arna.bronstein@unh.edu
Murkland 304

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

Sociology

Prof. Rebecca Glauber
sociology.dept@unh.edu
McConnell 303
603-862-2500

  • Complete at least one introductory SOC class with "C" or better

Deadline: No specific deadline

Spanish

Prof. Lori Hopkins
lori.hopkins@unh.edu
Murkland G10C
603-862-3122

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline (once declared, students must make an appointment with a faculty advisor through the department's administrative assistant)

Theatre/Dance

Chris Peabody
c.peabody@unh.edu
PCAC D22
603-862-0093

  • General Theatre: contact Prof. David Richman
  • Musical Theatre: contact Prof. John Brest
  • Youth Drama Emphasis in Theatre or Secondary Education Emphasis in Theatre: contact Prof. Raina Ames
  • Design and Technical Theatre: contact Prof. Szu-Feng Chen
  • Acting: contact Prof. David Kaye
  • Dance: contact Prof. Larry Robertson.  

All of the Theatre and Dance Department contacts may be reached at Paul Creative Arts Center (PCAC), 2-2919

Deadline: No specific deadline

Women's Studies

Siobhan Senier
siobhan.senier@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith G09
603-862-2466

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

 

Undeclared

 

Students may change their major to Undeclared Liberal Arts.

Students must be in a declared major by the time they reach Junior standing.

Hood House 102, 603-862-2064