University Environmental Health & Safety Committee

The Mission of the University Environmental Health and Safety Committee (UEHSC) is to support the University of New Hampshire's mission of excellence in teaching and learning, research and discovery, outreach and public service by providing leadership and services to assure a safe and healthy environment for all members of the University community. The University Environmental Health and Safety Committee promotes a safe campus environment by coordinating programs and services to reduce safety, health and environmental risks to the University of New Hampshire community in a manner consistent with responsible fiscal and environmental stewardship.

The UEHSC is a deliberative body which is representative of the University community, and includes members from academic and administrative divisions on campus. It is the committee's responsibility to advise the President, to administratively coordinate the various safety-related efforts of the university community, to develop University policy in all areas affecting the maintenance of safe campus environments, and to guide and support the Office of Environmental Health and Safety. Through proactive assessment of potential health and safety issues, by responding to concerns raised by members of the campus community, and with respect to applicable regulatory requirements, this committee develops and recommends to the President, policies and actions that will reduce sources and levels of risk. Administrative responsibility for support of the UEHSC has been delegated by the President to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Vice President for Finance and Administration. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs can re-delegate this responsibility to the Senior Vice Provost for Research. The Vice President for Finance and Administration can re-delegate this responsibility to the Associate Vice President for Facilities and Operations.

Consistent with USNH Board of Trustees guidance and particular regulations which may apply, standing committees exist within the UEHSC structure to develop specific policies and procedures related to hazardous materials and hazardous operations (radiological, biological, chemical and occupational). Although university wide in the scope of its activities, service of individuals appointed to the UEHSC does not change established line authorities and reporting responsibilities. Standing committees that are assigned safety responsibilities at UNH are responsible for reviewing issues and recommending specific operational programs and practices within their areas of expertise. The UEHSC, based on thorough consideration of the collected technical input and administrative advice submitted by the standing committees, officially formulates policy and recommends actions for approval by the President. The body of approved UEHSC policies constitutes the University standard for safe facilities, operations and practices at UNH. The UEHSC can review procedures, programs and protocols approved by the standing committees and vote to override the committees' action. However, the UEHSC cannot approve procedures, programs or protocols that have been rejected by the standing committees.

Committee Members

  • Associate Vice President Facilities: Bill Janelle
  • College of Engineering & Physical Sciences: Chuck Zercher
  • College of Life Science & Agriculture: Dean Jon Wraith
  • Director of Environmental Health & Safety: Bradford Manning
  • Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs: Jan Nisbet (Chair)

Chairs of the six specialized committees.

View OEHS Knowledge Base

The Knowledge Base contains forms, instruction and training material, minutes, policies, tools and other resources to support your research efforts by topic area.