Staff Recognition Returns, Signature Spring Events in Person

March 31, 2022

Dear Colleagues—

The steady decline in the number and severity of COVID-19 cases across the state and the country allowed us to lift the indoor mask requirement and begin to return to some level of normalcy. We were pleased to recently celebrate—in person—the excellence of our faculty in teaching, research and service, and now we look forward to the return of our annual staff recognition event after a two-year hiatus. This celebration on May 6 will allow us to recognize more than 400 employees on all three campuses celebrating service milestones. The Presidential Award of Excellence, which recognizes PAT, OS and EE staff members for their outstanding performance and distinguished service, will also return this year. Please watch for an email from Human Resources with more detailed information about the event and how to nominate a deserving colleague.

Many of our signature events will return to in person this semester and we encourage you to support your colleagues and our students by attending. Also, check the university’s calendar for performances, speakers and other engaging and informative events.

Graduate Research Conference, April 11 and 12, Hamel Recreation Center 
More than 200 graduate students from all academic disciplines present their work and research.

Undergraduate Research Conference, April 19 to 23, Durham and Manchester campuses
Nearly 2,000 students from all disciplines present their research, scholarly and creative projects in over 20 professional and artistic venues.

21-Day Racial Equity Habit-Building Challenge, April 4-24
Participants create dedicated time and space to build more effective social justice habits and complete 21 short assignments over 21 days that include readings, videos or podcasts.

Have a great remainder of the spring semester. The opportunity to gather in person and celebrate the great work and accomplishments of our community is truly a gift after these last two years. Can’t wait to see you!

James W. Dean, Jr.

Wayne Jones