Meet the NRESS Faculty

John Aber and Matt Smith at the organic dairy farm
John Aber, Faulty Advisor and Matthew Smith '16G, Research Scientist, UNH Organic Dairy Research Farm

The NRESS Ph.D. Program is very proud of the over 80 UNH faculty members who advise, mentor and serve on numerous guidance and doctoral committees for nearly 65 NRESS students. As seen on the menus for NRESS Faculty Affiliations, NRESS faculty represent a wide range of 23 research groups, departments, and schools, colleges and UNH outreach.

Prospective students are encouraged to contact NRESS faculty members directly when seeking a potential advisor for mentoring and possible funding of applicant’s doctoral studies.

Faculty | Email Department/Research Group Research Interests  
John Aber
john.aber@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecosystems, acid rain, modeling, agroecosystems  
Heidi Asbjornsen
heidi.asbjornsen@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecology  

Catherine M. Ashcraft
catherine.ashcraft@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Environmental policy and planning; International environmental governance; Negotiation and dispute resolution; Water resources management  
Shadi Atallah
shadi.atallah@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Environmental and resource economics; agroforestry; bioeconomics of pests and diseases; ecological-economic modeling; ecosystem services; food systems  
Semra Aytur
semra.aytur@unh.edu
Health Management and Policy Relationships between policy, environment, and systems change to promote healthy behaviors and prevent chronic diseases  
Kimberly J. Babbitt
kbabbitt@unh.edu 
Natural Resources and the Environment Wildlife ecology, amphibian ecology; ecology of temporary aquatic systems  
Margaret Boettcher
margaret.boettcher@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Earthquake physics, rock mechanics, and frictional behavior of faults  
Bobby Braswell
bobby.braswell@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Data science, remote sensing, global carbon cycle, and terrestrial ecosystem modeling  
Jennifer Brewer
jennifer.brewer@unh.edu
Geography

Human-environment dynamics, political ecology, policy, natural resource co-management, collective action, fisheries, climate change

 
Julie Bryce
julie.bryce@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Applications of trace element and isotope geochemistry to lithospheric, hydrologic, atmospheric and biogeochemical processes  

Elizabeth Burakowski
elizabeth.burakowski@unh.edu

Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space    
David Burdick
david.burdick@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/ Jackson Estuarine Laboratory Physiology and restoration ecology of marsh plants and sea grasses; cumulative impact management  
Rosemarie Came
rosemarie.came@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Paleoclimatology, with a specific interest in the forcings that initiate climate changes, and the mechanisms by which climatic signals propagate globally  

John E. Carroll
(Professor Emeritus)
john.carroll@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological ethics and values, sustainable agriculture, food and energy sustainability  
William Clyde
will.clyde@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Vertebrate paleontology, stratigraphy  
Russell Congalton russ.congalton@unh.edu Natural Resources and the Environment Remote sensing and geographic information systems  
Alexandra Contosta
alix.contosta@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Land use-climate feedbacks; winter ecology; ecosystem ecology  
J. Matthew Davis
matt.davis@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Hydrogeology  
Jack Dibb
jack.dibb@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Atmospheric chemistry, air-snow exchange  
Kurk Dorsey
kurk.dorsey@unh.edu
History U.S. foreign relations, environmental history, Canada  
Mark Ducey
mark.ducey@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest biometrics and management  
Jessica Ernakovich
Jessica.Ernakovich@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Microbial ecology, biogeochemistry, stable isotopes

 
Charles French
charlie.french@unh.edu
UNH Cooperative Extension Civic agriculture, public participation in local decision-making, land use conflict, and rural economic development  
Serita Frey
serita.frey@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Soil science, microbial ecology, ecosystem science  
Stephen Frolking
steve.frolking@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Ecosystem modeling and carbon balance  
Kevin Gardner
kevin.gardner@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Contaminant behavior in estuarine environments, contaminated sediment chemistry and management, trace chemical behavior in the environment.  
Jeffrey Garnas
Jeff.Garnas@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Ecology and evolution of insects and pathogens in forest ecosystems; insect-fungal interactions; biological invasions; genetics

 
Christopher Glass
chris.glass@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Sustainable fisheries  
Stuart Grandy
stuart.grandy@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Soil fertility and biogeochemistry  
Curt Grimm
curt.grimm@unh.edu
Anthropology/Carsey School of Public Policy Rural community development; organizational and project strategic planning, monitoring and evaluation  
Iago Hale
iago.hale@unh.edu

 

Biological Sciences

Development of plant genetic resources for sustainable food systems; agronomic and horticultural breeding, genetics, and genomics; agricultural system diversification

 
John Halstead
john.halstead@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Solid waste management  
Lawrence Hamilton
lawrence.hamilton@unh.edu
Sociology Statistics, survey research, the Arctic  
Erik Hobbie
erik.hobbie@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Mycorrhizal fungi, isotopes, carbon and nitrogen cycling  
Sameer Honwad
sameer.honwad@unh.edu
Education Environmental sustainability using technology and collaborative learning approaches; study learners worldwide in different cultures and how they understand ecosystem processes and use this knowledge in their everyday life practices  
Theodore Howard
ted.howard@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Economics of natural resources  
Meghan Howey
meghan.howey@unh.edu
Anthropology Archaeology: anthropocene, landscape, geospatial modeling, cultural heritage and sustainability, North America  
Jennifer Jacobs
jennifer.jacobs@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Surface water hydrology and land-surface
water and energy dynamics
 
Joel Johnson
joel.johnson@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Marine geology, sedimentology  
Nancy Kinner
nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Bioremediation of contaminated subsurface environments and more generally, environmental microbiology  
Adrienne Kovach
adrienne.kovach@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Molecular ecology, population biology and conservation genetics of vertebrates  
Jo Laird
jo.laird@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Metamorphic petrology  
Richard Lammers
richard.lammers@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Hydrological cycle and human influences  
Thomas Lee
tom.lee@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Community and physiological ecology  
Joseph Licciardi
joe.licciardi@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Glacial geology  
Anne Lightbody
anne.lightbody@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Civil and Environmental Engineering Flow and transport within surface water systems, including rivers, streams, lakes, fresh-water wetlands, and salt-water marshes  
Marian Litvaitis
m.litvaitis@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Biodiversity, phylogenetics, and connectivity of marine invertebrates; conservation genetics of vertebrates  
Anthony Lyons
anthony.lyons@ccom.unh.edu
CCOM/JHC    
Mary Martin
mary.martin@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Hyperspectral remote sensing  
Larry Mayer
Larry.Mayer@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Ocean mapping  
William McDowell
bill.mcdowell@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Land use and water quality, biogeochemical cycles  
Michael Merenda
michael.merenda@unh.edu
Management Strategic management, entrepreneurship, international business and SME competitiveness  
Weiwei Mo
weiwei.mo@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Sustainable and resilient urban infrastructure, complex systems modeling, life cycle assessment, industrial ecology  
Gregg Moore
gregg.moore@unh.edu
Biological Sciences/Jackson Estuarine Laboratory

Coastal wetland restoration ecology, conservation and land management

 
Paula Mouser

Paula.Mouser@unh.edu

 

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Bioremediation of contaminated environments; environmental microbiology of water and wastewaters; -omics tools applied to engineered systems

 
Scott Ollinger
scott.ollinger@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecology, nutrient cycling, air pollution impacts on forest ecosystems, modeling  
Michael Palace
michael.palace@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Tropical forest ecology and structure  
Peter Pekins
pete.pekins@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological energetics of wildlife  
James Pringle
jpringle@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Physical oceanography  
Robert Robertson
rob.robertson@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Human dimensions in natural resources management, sustainable tourism development  
Rebecca J. Rowe
rebecca.rowe@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Vertebrate community ecology, landscape ecology, impacts of land use and climate
change, ecosystem sustainability, historical ecology
 
Thomas Safford
tom.safford@unh.edu
Sociology Analyzing inter-organizational relationships and understanding the roles different public and private sector organizations play in environmental management  
Joseph E. Salisbury

joe.salisbury@unh.edu

Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Characterize distributions of carbon dioxide, air-sea carbon exchange, acidification and productivity in riverine-influenced coastal regions, developing methods for understanding community productivity dynamics and plume detection using satellite ocean color data  
Fredrick Short
fred.short@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/ Jackson Estuarine Laboratory Ecology of marine plants ecosystems  
Becky Sideman

Becky.Sideman@unh.edu

UNH Cooperative Extension/
Biological Sciences
Sustainable agriculture, vegetable and small fruit production, plant breeding and genetics, plant disease resistance and pathogen interactions, plant pathology and disease management  
Richard G. Smith
richard.smith@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Agroecology, sustainable agricultural systems, weed ecology and management, functional role of biological diversity in agroecosystems, plant invasions, community ecology  
Jeannie Sowers
Jeannie.Sowers@unh.edu
Political Science/ International Affairs Program Comparative environmental politics, environment and politics in the Middle East and North Africa, climate and resource politics, war and the environment  
Michael Swack
michael.swack@unh.edu
 
Economics/Carsey School of Public Policy Development finance, community development, economic development and microfinance  
Douglas Vandemark
doug.vandemark@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Air-sea interaction and ocean remote sensing  
Ruth Varner
ruth.varner@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Trace gas measurements of methyl bromide and carbon dioxide  
Cameron Wake
cameron.wake@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/ Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Ice chemistry, glaciology, air quality and human health interactions  
Larry Ward
larry.ward@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Coastal geology, sedimentation  
Fiona Wilson
fiona.wilson@unh.edu
Management Corporate sustainability, business models designed for social and environmental impact, social entrepreneurship  
Wilfred Wollheim
wil.wollheim@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/ Water Systems Analysis Group Watershed nutrient and carbon dynamics, aquatic ecosystems, watershed and ecosystem modeling  
Adam Wymore
adam.wymore@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Aquatic ecosystems, watershed biogeochemistry, carbon and nitrogen cycling, water quality

 
Jingfeng Xiao
j.xiao@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Terrestrial carbon cycle, remote sensing, ecological modeling, disturbances, vegetation dynamics, land cover/land use change, and human-environment interactions  
Affiliate Faculty/ Email Department Research Interests  
Janet Campbell (Emerita)
janet.campbell@unh.edu
School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering Remote sensing of phytoplankton pigments and primary productivity in the ocean, optics of the ocean  
John Campbell
jlcampbell@fs.fed.us
U.S. Forest Service Biogeochemical cycling, water quality, forest ecosystems  
Semme Dijkstra

s.dijkstra@unh.edu

Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center Ocean Mapping: seafloor characterization, small object detection and habitat mapping  
Kevin Dodds
kdodds@fs.fed.us
U.S. Forest Service Forest entomology, forest health, insect ecology, forest disturbance  
Jeffrey Foster

jeff.foster@nau.edu

Northern Arizona Univ Disease ecology, conservation biology, avian ecology, and pathogen genomics  
Richard Hallett
richard.hallett@unh.edu
U.S. Forest Service Forest nutrient cycling, remote sensing, forest health, regional studies  
Joel Hartter
joel.hartter@colorado.edu
Carsey School of Public Policy Natural resource use in rural communities, human-environment interactions, protected areas, and land use/land cover change  
David Hollinger
davidh@unh.edu
U.S. Forest Service Forest-atmosphere interactions, global policy change  
John G.W. Kelley
john.kelley@noaa.gov
john.kelley@unh.edu
Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center GIS-based web mapping and coastal, estuarine, and Great Lakes oceanographic forecast modeling systems  
Paul Kirshen
Paul.Kirshen@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Water resources engineering and management, climate change vulnerability assessment and adaptation planning  
Rakesh Minocha
rakesh.minocha@unh.edu
USDA Forest Service Acid rain, stress physiology, biochemical stress indicators, forest health  
Isabel Munck
imunck@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service

Forest pathology, forest health, forest ecology, forest management