myCourses - Set hyperlinks to open in new window

Adding or modifying hyperlinks in myCourses to open in a new window

When using hyperlinks that open to internet resources that are outside of the courses, it is recommended that you have the link open in a new window. This allows the person viewing the internet resource to close the site without also closing the myCourses course.

 

1. Navigate to the desired page where you are inserting your hyperlink

2. Click on the hyperlink or highlight the words you want to change into a link

3. Click Ctrl-K (Command-K for Mac). This will open a pop-up window on the text that you want to link (or if you've already linked your text it will allow you to edit the link) where you can select the target to "open link in a new window" from the drop-down.”

 

Need additional help?

Please fill out the mycourses webform with as much detail as possible.

Custom Fields
  • Application: Canvas
  • Department: Teaching & Learning Platforms
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
myCourses Quiz Settings and Security
Viewed 825 times since Fri, Aug 21, 2015
myCourses Support and Technical Help for Instructors
Viewed 3111 times since Thu, Aug 20, 2015
myCourses Attendance Tool
Viewed 1076 times since Mon, Feb 8, 2016
myCourses - Add Student to Course
Viewed 1110 times since Tue, Dec 6, 2016
myCourses - Creating an Announcement
Viewed 387 times since Thu, Feb 22, 2018
myCourses Best Practices for Quizzes
Viewed 903 times since Mon, Nov 16, 2015
myCourses Course Access Post Term FAQ
Viewed 1495 times since Mon, Jan 25, 2016
myCourses Supported Document Types
Viewed 965 times since Wed, Dec 9, 2015
myCourses Auto-Open Inline Preview of Files
Viewed 1475 times since Wed, Aug 19, 2015
J-Term support for winter break
Viewed 1013 times since Wed, Dec 7, 2016
MENU