The newest recipients of the Gilman Scholarship, which helps fund study abroad, are Miriam Arsenault, Emily Berry, Tricia Kastelitz, Allison Lehoux, Vanessa Sihombing, Elizabeth Twomey, and Emily Wilcox.
Junior honors students Tyler Chapman (engineering physics) and Joey Mancinelli (Chemistry) received honorable mentions in the 2017 Goldwater Scholarship competition
In recent months, Christopher Whitney and Henry Herndon, both Master of Science degree students in COLSA’s natural resources graduate program, were honored with prestigious fellowships to support their work. Whitney has received a Science To Achieve Results (STAR) Graduate Fellowship from the EPA, while Herndon was awarded a Switzer Environmental Fellowship.
Madison Wood (Chemical Engineering, '19) is only the second UNH student ever selected for the prestigious UK Fulbright Summer Institute, She is one of only 4 students from the US chosen to participate in this fully-funded program offered by the US-UK Fulbright Commission.
Aseebulla “Aseeb” Niazi ’15 was awarded a 2017 Charles B. Rangel International Affairs Fellowship in November following a highly competitive nationwide contest.
Molly Hartley and Emily Van Gulick have received honorable mentions in the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, the nation’s premier undergraduate award for science, math, engineering, and technology (STEM) majors.
Four University of New Hampshire students have been offered Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants. They are Gabriela Aguilera (Russian/Justice Studies ’15) of Cincinnati, OH; Jennifer Lindsay (Studio Art/International Affairs ’14) of Pembroke, NH; Sonia Scherr (MFA, Creative Writing ’13) of Norwich, VT; and Sasa Tang (Political Science/International Affairs ’11) of Lee, NH.
Five University of New Hampshire students are among the 1,000 American undergraduate students selected to receive the prestigious Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs to study or intern abroad during the summer 2015 term. The recipients are Tamir Blum, Matthew Kimball, Nicholas Lajoie, Elinor Purrier, and Jacqueline Sullivan.
Mark Anthony (natural resources) and Rory Carroll (Earth systems science), both second-year graduate students, and Herbie Smith, a senior physics major, are NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program fellows. The National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program is one of the nation’s premier national science, math, engineering and technology (STEM) scholarship competitions.
Paige Balcom received a funded DAAD RISE internship position at Leibniz University in Hannover in Summer 2014. She is profiled on their university website.