Outstanding Faculty Award - Associate Professor, 2022

Eshan Dave

Eshan Dave has a well-established record of success in research,

scholarship, teaching and service in transportation materials and pavements, with a keen focus on performance-based evaluation and design techniques to prolong the life of pavements in an economical manner. Dave joined UNH as part of a cluster hire in sustainable infrastructure in January 2015.

Dave demonstrates his dedication to teaching and mentorship of students, engagement in collaborative research, publications with multiple graduate students and faculty colleagues at UNH as well as around the world, and he serves on several leading professional organizations.

Much of this collaborative work is on the cutting edge of pavement applications that are designed to increase the sustainability of our roadways.  He recently spent a sabbatical as a visiting professor at the Université Gustave Eiffel in France, funded by the French government’s FUTURE I-Sites (Inventing the Cities of Tomorrow) program. Throughout his career, he has been recognized as a leader who supports diversity and inclusiveness with an authentic ability and desire.  

Undergraduate and graduate students praise Dave for his ability to answer challenging questions clearly, his infectious energy and enthusiasm and his willingness to help those who may need support. Students consistently rate him as one of the department’s best instructors.

Dave personifies the concept of a “good citizen” in the CEE department, in CEPS, at UNH and in his profession.

About This Award

The ideal university faculty member is someone whose accomplishments in the areas of teaching, research, and service are prodigious and of the highest quality. He or she is an inspiring, challenging, and effective teacher, whose concern and respect for students is evident both in and out of the classroom. Such a faculty member makes important and extensive contributions to his or her chosen field, and shares those contributions with peers through publication or other appropriate means. Finally, the ideal faculty member willingly and effectively devotes time and energy in useful service to the university, the profession, and the state. The recipients of these awards are those members of the university faculty who, in recent years, have demonstrated these qualities. Each year, two Outstanding Faculty Awards will be given, one each for an assistant and an associate professor. All UNH tenure track faculty members at those ranks are eligible.