Find us on Facebook

Other Resources

Annual Awards

Past Award Winners »

Celebrating the Achievements of Women 2010
26th Annual Women's Commission Awards Celebration

Lifting As We Climb Award Winners 2010

On Thursday March 25, the members of the Women’s Commission, colleagues and community members gathered in the Strafford Room for the 26th Annual Awards Celebration. This year’s theme, “Lifting As We Climb” derives from the National Association for Colored Women’s work more than a century ago. They understood that no individual woman of color could rise, nor did they want to rise, without the improvement of the whole race. At the top of their agenda were job training, wage equity, and childcare: issues that, when addressed, would lift all women, and all people of color. The sentiment of lifting as we climb rang true for many guests at the luncheon who had benefited from or done the work of mentoring for equity and inclusion at the University of New Hampshire.

In contrast to the speakers brought in past events, this celebration focused on a panel of faculty, staff and students at UNH. Panelists included Jessica Burnap Women’s Assistant Lacrosse Coach; Karen Frarie, Administrative Assistant II in the Social Work Department; Dr. Anita Klein, Associate Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences; Melissa Schilke, undergraduate student in the Psychology Department; and Vilmarie Sanchez, Human Resources Business Partner, University Campus Operations. The moderator for the discussion was Dr. Trece Mettauer, Commission Co-Chair and Coordinator of Community Outreach Scholarship at UNH Manchester. She led the panel in a dialogue of personal inspirations, as well as mentoring techniques and experiences.

Women’s Commission members and UNH students Nicole O’Connor and Ali Armenakis presented the awards. The recipient of this year’s Student Awards were Jen Hill, Humanities and Women’s Studies and Kam Jamison, Women’s Studies. The recipient of the Faculty Award was Professor Reginald Wilburn, English Department. The recipient of the Stephanie Thomas Staff Award was Erica Johnson of the Interoperability Lab, and the winner of the Joyce Gibbs Award was Tricia Hanley of the Counseling Center.

Early spring weather and a commemorative slide show also helped set this celebration apart from those of years’ past.  It had been decided that Commission Awards would be given to non- members; nevertheless, a moment was taken to acknowledge Dr. Wanda Mitchell, Vice Provost and Chief Diversity Officer for her all of the work since “taking UNH by storm”, implementing programs with an evaluation process that has changed the university’s record in its regard for women and minority faculty. Mitchell has also developed a Junior Faculty Mentoring and Professional Development Program. Her special brand of lifting as we climb was recognized, and the women’s commission said, “Thank you, Wanda Mitchell, for all you have done.”

Special thanks were also expressed to artist Jennifer Moses, professor of Art at UNH, whose work was on the program cover and to the members of the UNH wind ensemble Quintense, who added their musical talent for the enjoyment of all.

Additional Event Resources:

Panel Discussion   Luncheon Attendees

Pres Huddleston      Ali and Nicole       Trece and Dawn



*You are viewing pages printed from
These pages appear differently when viewed online.

If you are the owner of this site and you would like to print the page as it appears online, please refer to the file "QuickStart.html" for instructions.