June Peer Advisor

Job Description

  • There are 6 orientation sessions where you will be helping incoming freshmen in the College of Liberal Arts choose courses, answering questions about academics, discussing resources around campus, and helping students register for the Fall semester
  • You will be paired with a faculty/staff advisor for all orientation sessions. Each orientation session, you and your faculty/staff partner will lead a group of around 10-20 incoming students through university requirements, major exploration, choosing courses, and registering for classes.
  • You will also assist with the administrative preparation for each orientation session.

Application Process

  • Apply using the form below
  • Applications are due by 4:00 PM on Friday, March 27
  • After you apply, you will be contacted to sign up for an interview
  • Interviews will be held Thursday, April 2 and Friday, April 3
  • All candidates will be notified of our decision on or before Friday, April 10, 2015

Qualifications

  • All applicants must be an enrolled student in a UNH Durham bachelor degree program
  • Applicants must be in good academic and judicial standing; a minimum GPA of 3.0 is required
  • We will confirm all requirements with the appropriate office, in addition to searching any social networks

Dates/Time Commitment

*Must be available to work all times outlined below

  • Wednesday, May 27 – 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM (Training)
  • Monday, June 1 – 1:30 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Thursday, June 4 – 1:30 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Monday, June 8 – 1:30 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Thursday, June 11 – 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Monday, June 15 – 1:30 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Thursday, June 18 – 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Stipend

  • $600 for the completion of all six sessions and training
  • Dinner at Holloway Commons is included with each evening session (lunch on the one-day sessions)
  • Room & Board is NOT offered

For questions or more information

 

Application