Advising Handbook - COLSA

This is for Faculty/Staff use only. Check with department for official information.

Jon M. Wraith, Dean

Kimberly J. Babbitt, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, kbabbitt@unh.edu, 2-1450, Rudman Hall G05

Katie Cousens, Katie.Cousens@unh.edu, 2-1451, Rudman Hall G05

 

MajorAdvising ContactDeclaration/Application Rule

Animal Science

Prof. Elizabeth Boulton
e.boulton@unh.edu
Kendall 214
2-2758

Must meet with department before declaring

Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Prof. Dave Townson
dave.townson@unh.edu
Kendall 509
2-3475

Must meet with department before declaring

Biology

Prof. Subhash Minocha
sminocha@unh.edu
Rudman 103
2-3840

Must meet with department before declaring

Biomedical Science: Medical Laboratory Science

Prof. Adele Marone
adele.marone@unh.edu
Kendall 210
2-1376

UNH students wishing to transfer into the Biomedical Science major Medical Laboratory Science option from another 4-year program within UNH must submit an Application for Internal Transfer. Qualified applicants will be admitted on a space available and competitive basis. Should an opening occur, all of the internal transfer student applications submitted for that grade level will be reviewed by MLS Program faculty. The applicant regarded as most likely to succeed will be notified of the opening. Applicants are considered only for the semester in which their application is submitted. Should an applicant wish to be considered for a subsequent semester they must submit an updated transcript and degree evaluation. For further information contact the advising contact.

In order to apply, internal transfer students must meet the following eligibility requirements:

-UNH GPA of 2.5 or better
-Completion of Chemistry 403 with a C or better.
-Completion of a minimum of 16 college credits at the University of New Hampshire.

Biomedical Science: Medical Microbiology

Dr. Thomas Pistole
thomas.pistole@unh.edu
Rudman 279
2-0111

We welcome an opportunity to talk with you about your interests and to discuss whether this program matches your academic and professional goals. All COLSA students interested in applying to the BMS:MM option must fill out a web form that will be sent to Dr. Thomas Pistole, the program coordinator, prior to gaining admission to the major. Once you have been approved for admission to the major, you will need to complete the change of program process through Blackboard/Webcat Services. You should meet with your current major advisor to start the process. All non-COLSA students interested in applying to the BMS:MM option should contact Dr. Thomas Pistole, Thomas.Pistole@unh.edu.

Biomedical Science: Medical and Veterinary Sciences

Dr. Paul Tsang
paul.tsang@unh.edu
Kendall 207
2-3479

Must meet with department before declaring

Community and Environmental Planning

Prof. Mimi Becker
mimi.becker@unh.edu
James Hall 134
2-3950

Must meet with department before declaring

Dairy Management

Prof. Peter Erickson
peter.erickson@unh.edu
Dairy Nutr Research Ctr 102 D
2-1909

Must meet with department before declaring

Environmental and Resource Economics

Prof. John Halstead
johnh@unh.edu
James Hall 168
2-3914

Must meet with department before declaring

Environmental Conservation and Sustainability

Prof. Robert Eckert
r.eckert@unh.edu
James Hall 138
2-2508

Students must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.75 and completed either PBIO 412 or ZOOL 412 with a grade of C- or better. BIOL 411-412 are alternatives to PBIO 412 and ZOOL 412.  Interested students should contact the advising contact.

Environmental Sciences

Prof. Michael Palace
mpalace@unh.edu
Morse Hall 448
2-4193

Must meet with department before declaring

Equine Studies

Sarah Rigg
sarah.rigg@unh.edu
Light Horse Classroom
2-1356

Must meet with department before declaring

Forestry

Prof. Theodore Howard
tehoward@unh.edu
James Hall 114A
2-2700

Must meet with department before declaring

Genetics

Prof. Estell Hrabak
estelle.hrabak@unh.edu
Rudman 105
2-0716

Must meet with department before declaring

Marine, Estuarine and Freshwater Biology

Prof. Larry Harris
lharris@unh.edu
Spaulding 149
2-3897

Must meet with department before declaring

Neuroscience and Behavior

Prof. Winsor Watson
win@unh.edu
Rudman 179
2-1629

UNH students wishing to transfer into the Neuroscience and Behavior Major from another 4-year program within UNH must submit an Application for Internal Transfer.  Qualified applicants will be admitted on a space available and competitive basis. There will be two deadlines for submission of applications each year, one in the fall and one in the spring, prior to preregistration for the following semester. For further information contact the advising contact. In order to apply, internal transfer students must have a GPA of 3.2 or better.

Nutrition

Prof. Collette Janson-Sand
chjs@unh.edu
Nesmith 105
2-1723

Students must have a cumulative UNH grade point average of at least 3.0 and the following courses completed or in process at the time of application: NUTR 400, ENGL 401, and PSYC 401 or SOC 400.  Please see http://www.nutrition.unh.edu, “Transferring into Nutrition” for more information.

Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems

Prof. Rebecca Sideman
becky.sideman@unh.edu
Spaulding G48
2-3203

Must meet with department before declaring

Tourism Planning and Development

Prof. Robert Robertson
rob.robertson@unh.edu
James Hall G70
2-2711

Must meet with department before declaring

Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Prof. John Litvaitis
john@unh.edu
James Hall 130
2-2094

Must meet with department before declaring

Zoology

Prof. James Haney
jim.haney@unh.edu
Spaulding 116
2-2105

Must meet with department before declaring

Undeclared

Katie Cousens
Katie.Cousens@unh.edu,
Rudman Hall G05
2-1451

No internal transfer option. Students should speak with their advisor for other options.