Advising Handbook - COLSA

This is for Faculty/Staff use only. Check with department for official information.

Jon M. Wraith, Dean

Kimberly J. Babbitt, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Kimberly.Babbitt@unh.edu, 2-1450, Rudman Hall G05

Katie Cousens, Academic Advisor/ Program Coordinator Katie.Cousens@unh.edu, 2-1451, Rudman Hall G05

 

MajorAdvising ContactDeclaration/Application Rule

Animal Science

 

Prof. Elizabeth Boulton
e.boulton@unh.edu
Nesmith 104
2-2758

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://animalsci.unh.edu/4year/declaring-major

Animal Science: Dairy Managment

Prof. Peter Erickson
Dairy Nutrition Research CTR 102D 
2-1909
  • Must contact department for declaration requirements

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://animalsci.unh.edu/4year/declaring-major

Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Prof. Chales Walker
charles.walker@unh.edu
Rudman 185
2-2111

  • Must meet with department
  • Complete the online web form

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.bmcb.unh.edu/changing-your-major-biochemistry-molecular-and-cellular-biology

Biology

Prof. Donald Chandler
donald.chandler@unh.edu
Spaulding 266
2-1735

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://biology.unh.edu/declaring-major

Biomedical Science: Medical Laboratory Science

Prof. Adele Marone
adele.marone@unh.edu
Kendall 210
2-1376

  • Overall GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Complete CHEM 403 with "C" or better
  • Complete a minimum of 16 credits at UNH
  • Fill out web form application and then meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.biomedical.unh.edu/changing-your-major-biomedical-science

Biomedical Science: Medical Microbiology

Dr. Thomas Pistole
thomas.pistole@unh.edu
Rudman 279
2-0111

  • Fill out web form application and then meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.biomedical.unh.edu/changing-your-major-biomedical-science

Biomedical Science: Medical and Veterinary Sciences

Dr. Paul Tsang
paul.tsang@unh.edu
Kendall 207
2-3479

  • Fill out web form application and then meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.biomedical.unh.edu/changing-your-major-biomedical-science

Community and Environmental Planning

Prof. Mary Friedman
mary.friedman@unh.edu
James Hall G62
2-4456

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

Environmental and Resource Economics

Prof. John Halstead
johnh@unh.edu
James Hall 168
2-3914

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

Environmental Conservation and Sustainability

Prof. Thomas Lee
tom.lee@unh.edu
James Hall 128
2-3791

  • Overall GPA of 2.75 or higher
  • Complete either PBIO 412 or ZOOL 412 with "C-" or better (BIOL 411-412 are alternatives)
  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

Environmental Sciences

Prof. Michael Palace
mpalace@unh.edu
Morse Hall 448
2-4193

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

Equine Studies

Sarah Rigg
sarah.rigg@unh.edu
Light Horse Classroom
2-1356

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.equine.unh.edu/declaring-major

Forestry

Mark Ducey
James G64
2-4429
  • Must meet with department

Genetics

Prof. Estelle Hrabak
estelle.hrabak@unh.edu
Rudman 105
2-0716

  • Fill out the web form and then meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://www.genetics.unh.edu/changing-your-major-genetics

Marine, Estuarine and Freshwater Biology

Prof. David Berlinsky
Spaulding 171 2-0007
  • Must meet with department

Neuroscience and Behavior

Prof. Winsor Watson
win@unh.edu
Rudman 179
2-1629

  • Overall GPA of 3.2 or higher
  • Submit an Application for Internal Transfer

Deadline: One in fall and one in spring prior to registration period (contact department for details)

How to Apply: http://neuroscience.unh.edu/declaring-major

Nutrition

Prof. Colette Janson-Sand
chjs@unh.edu
Nesmith 105
2-1723

  • Overall GPA of 3.00 or higher
  • Complete or be enrolled in NUTR 400, ENGL 401, and PSYC 401 or SOC 400
  • Attend a mandatory information session
  • Application

Deadline: October 1 or March 1

How to Apply: http://www.nutrition.unh.edu/TransfertoNutrition

Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems

Prof. Richard Smith (Fall) richard.smith@unh.edu       
James 264           
2-2724

Prof. Rebecca Sideman (Spring)
becky.sideman@unh.edu
Spaulding G48
2-3203

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://sustainableag.unh.edu/declaring-major

Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Prof. Marianne Litvaitis (Fall)
James Hall 136
2-2810

 

Prof. John Litvaitis (Spring)
john@unh.edu
James Hall 130
2-2094

  • Must contact department for declaration requirements

Zoology

Prof. James Haney
jim.haney@unh.edu
Spaulding 116
2-2105

  • Must meet with department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://zoology.unh.edu/declaring-major

Undeclared

Katie Cousens
Katie.Cousens@unh.edu,
Rudman Hall G05
2-1451

No internal transfer option. Students should speak with their advisor for other options. This status applies only to new freshmen admitted to Undeclared LSA.