Advising Handbook - COLA

This is for Faculty/Staff use only. Check with department for official information.

John T. Kirkpatrick, Associate Dean, ted.kirkpatrick@unh.edu, 2-2062

Kevin Sousa, Academic Career Counselor, kevin.sousa@unh.edu, 2-2062, 110 Murkland Hall

 

**Advising Contacts are located on the right side of the major page unless otherwise noted**

 

 

Major           Advising Contact                   Declaration/Application Rule

Anthropology

Meghan Howey
meghan.howey@unh.edu
313 Huddleston Hall
2-2518

  • Complete at least one 400 or 500-level ANTH course with "C" or better

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/anthropology/declaring-major

Arts, The

Prof. Eileen Wong
art-arthistory@unh.edu
30 Academic Way
2-3820



Art History: Open

Studio Art: Meet with department for approval

BFA:

  • Submit a portfolio 
  • Complete at least one art history course

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/art-and-art-history/declaring-major

Classics

Prof. Stephan Trzaskoma
s.trzaskoma@unh.edu
Murkland 3062-3648

  • Complete or be enrolled in a LATN or GREK coruse
  • Get permission from a member of the faculty

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/chi/declaring-major

Communication

Andrew Sharp
andrew.sharp@unh.edu
Horton 130A
2-2991

  • Overall GPA of 2.00 or higher
  • Attend a mandatory application meeting
  • Application form and online change of major request

Deadline: Applications accepted only one week per semester  (generally the fourth or fifth week of the semester -- official dates posted on the department's website)

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/communication/declaring-major

Education
(not a major)

Cindy Glidden
cindy.glidden@unh.edu
Morrill 209A
2-2310

Not a major. Is a minor and a graduate program. Contact department for details.

English

English Literature

English Teaching

English
Carla Cannizzaro
carla.c@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith 113
2-3970

English Literature & Teaching
Prof. James Krasner

james.krasner@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith 51B
2-1877

  • Complete ENGL 419 with "C" or better or be enrolled in ENGL 419
  • Sophomore standing or higher

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/english/declaring-major-0

English/Journalism

Prof. Lisa Miller
lc.miller@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith 104
2-0251

 

  • Complete ENGL 534
  • Sophomore standing or higher

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/english/declaring-major-0

European Cultural Studies

Prof. Mary Rhiel
mary.rhiel@unh.edu
Murkland G10E
2-3052

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/european-cultural-studies/declaring-major

French

Prof. Nadine Berenguier
nadine.berenguier@unh.edu
Murkland 210K
2-1055
  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/llc/declaring-major

French StudiesProf. Nadine Berenguier
nadine.berenguier@unh.edu
Murkland 210K
2-1055
  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/llc/declaring-major

Geography

Prof. Mary Stampone
mary.stampone@unh.edu
Huddleston 102A
2-3136
  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/geography/declaring-major

GermanProf. Mary Rhiel
mary.rhiel@unh.edu
Murkland G10E
2-3052
  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/llc/declaring-major

Greek

Prof. Stephan Brunet
stephen.brunet@unh.edu
Murkland 318
2-2077

  • Complete or be enrolled in a GREK course
  • Get permission from a faculty member within the Classics Department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/chi/declaring-major

History

Laura Simard
laura.simard@unh.edu
Horton 405
2-1764
  • Complete two HIST courses with "C-" or better

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/history/declaring-major

Humanities

Prof. Catherine Peebles
catherine.peebles@unh.edu
Murkland 320
2-3638

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/chi/declaring-major

International Affairs
(dual major only)

Mindy McMahon
Mindy.McMahon@unh.edu
Hood House 227
2-3721

  • Overall GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Complete IA 401 with  "C" or better
  • Have declared or be prepared to declare a primary major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply (under "Declaring the Major"): http://www.unh.edu/cie/ia-dual-major-policy-curriculum-requirements

Justice Studies
(dual major only)

Debbie Brand
justice.studies@unh.edu
Huddleston 206A
2-1716

  • Overall GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Have declared a primary major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/justice-studies/declaring-major

Latin

Prof. Stephan Brunet
stephen.brunet@unh.edu
Murkland 318
2-2077
  • Complete or be enrolled in a LATN course
  • Get permission from a faculty member within the Classics Department

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/chi/declaring-major

Linguistics

Prof. Rochelle Lieber
rochelle.lieber@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith 107
2-3964

  • Meet with department for approval

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/linguistics/declaring-major

Music & Music Education

Susan Adams
susan.adams@unh.edu
Paul Creative Arts Center
2-2404

  • Audition required
  • Meet with department for approval

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/music/declaring-major

Neuroscience and Behavior

Susan Moore
susan.moore@unh.edu
468 McConnell Hall
2-2360

Contact department for details.

Philosophy

Paul McNamara
philosophy@unh.edu
Hamilton Smith
2-2060

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/philosophy/declaring-major

Political Science

Marcie Anderson
marcie.anderson@unh.edu
Horton 321
2-1751

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/political-science/declaring-major-0

Psychology

Susan Moore
susan.moore@unh.edu
468 McConnell Hall
2-2360
  • Complete PSCY 401 and PSYC 402 with "C" or better for undeclared liberal arts students
  • Complete PSYC 401 and PSYC 402 with "C-" or better for provisional psychology students 

Deadline: Declarations accepted only one week per semester  (generally the fourth or fifth week of the semester -- official dates posted on the department's website)

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/psychology/declaring-major

Russian

Prof. Arna Bronstein
arna.bronstein@unh.edu
Murkland 304
2-3445

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/llc/declaring-major

Sociology

Prof. Rebecca Glauber
sociology.dept@unh.edu
McConnell 303
2-2500
  • Complete at least one introductory SOC class with "C" or better

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/sociology/declaring-major

Spanish

Prof. Holly Cashman
holly.cashman@unh.edu
Murkland 210G
2-4123

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline (once declared, students must make an appointment with a faculty advisor through the department's administrative assistant)

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/llc/declaring-major

Theatre/Dance

Chris Peabody
c.peabody@unh.edu
PCAC D22
2-0093

 

  • General Theatre: contact Prof. David Richman
  • Musical Theatre: contact Prof. John Brest
  • Youth Drama Emphasis in Theatre or Secondary Education Emphasis in Theatre: contact Prof. Raina Ames
  • Design and Technical Theatre: contact Prof. Szu-Feng Chen
  • Acting: contact Prof. David Kaye
  • Dance: contact Prof. Larry Robertson.  

All of the Theatre and Dance Department contacts may be reached at Paul Creative Arts Center (PCAC), 2-2919

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/theatre-dance/declaring-major

Women's Studies

Faina Bukher
faina.bukher@unh.edu

Huddleston 203
2-2194

  • Open major

Deadline: No specific deadline

How to Apply: http://cola.unh.edu/womens-studies/declaring-major

Undeclared

 

Students may change their major to Undeclared Liberal Arts.

Students must be in a declared major by the time they reach Junior standing.

Hood House 102, 603-862-2064