Skip to Content

This browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets.

Faculty

 

Student Spotlight

Program Faculty

Click on the Professor's name to view personal webpage.

Page Updated April, 2016

Faculty/ Email Department Research Interests
John Aber
john.aber@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecosystems, acid rain, modeling, agroecosystems
Eleanor Abrams
eleanor.abrams@unh.edu
Education  Science education reform, educational technology
Heidi Asbjornsen
heidi.asbjornsen@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecology

Catherine M. Ashcraft
catherine.ashcraft@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Environmental policy and planning; International environmental governance; Negotiation and dispute resolution; Water resources management
Semra Aytur
semra.aytur@unh.edu
Health Management & Policy Relationships between policy, environment, and systems change to promote healthy behaviors and prevent chronic diseases
Kimberly J. Babbitt
kbabbitt@unh.edu 
Natural Resources and the Environment Wildlife ecology, amphibian ecology; ecology of temporary aquatic systems
Margaret Boettcher
margaret.boettcher@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Earthquake physics, rock mechanics, and frictional behavior of faults
Julie Bryce
julie.bryce@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Applications of trace element and isotope geochemistry to lithospheric, hydrologic, atmospheric and biogeochemical processes
David Burdick
david.burdick@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/Marine, Estuarine and Freshwater Biology Physiology and restoration ecology of marsh plants and sea grasses; cumulative impact management
Rosemarie Came
rosemarie.came@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Paleoclimatology, with a specific interest in the forcings that initiate climate changes, and the mechanisms by which climatic signals propagate globally
John E. Carroll
john.carroll@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological ethics and values, sustainable agriculture, food and energy sustainability
William Clyde
will.clyde@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Vertebrate paleontology, stratigraphy
Russell Congalton russ.congalton@unh.edu Natural Resources and the Environment Remote sensing and geographic information systems
J. Matthew Davis
matt.davis@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Hydrogeology
Jack Dibb
jack.dibb@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Atmospheric chemistry, air-snow exchange
Kurk Dorsey
kd@unh.edu
History U.S. foreign relations, environmental history, Canada
Mark Ducey
mjducey@unh.edu
Natural Resourcesand the Environment Forest biometrics and  management

Maria Foreman
maria.foreman@unh.edu

EOS/ESRC
Carsey School of Public Policy
Valuation of ecosystem services, design of incentives to induce adoption of environmentally beneficial technologies, tradeoff analysis and environmental economic impact analysis
Jeffrey Foster

jeff.foster@unh.edu

Molecular, Cellular and Biomedical Sciences Disease ecology, conservation biology, avian ecology, and pathogen genomics
Charles French
charlie.french@unh.edu
UNH Cooperative Extension Civic agriculture, public participation in local decision-making, land use conflict, and rural economic development
Serita Frey
serita.frey@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Soil science, microbial ecology, ecosystem science
Stephen Frolking
steve.frolking@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Ecosystem modeling and carbon balance
Kevin Gardner
kevin.gardner@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Contaminant behavior in estuarine environments, contaminated sediment chemistry and management, trace chemical behavior in the environment.
Christopher Glass
chris.glass@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Sustainable fisheries
Stuart Grandy
stuart.grandy@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Soil fertility and biogeochemistry
Curt Grimm
curt.grimm@unh.edu
Anthropology/Carsey School of Public Policy Rural community development; organizational and project strategic planning, monitoring and evaluation
John Halstead
john.halstead@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Solid waste management
Lawrence Hamilton
lawrence.hamilton@unh.edu
Sociology Statistics, survey research, the Arctic
Erik Hobbie
erik.hobbie@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Mycorrhizal fungi, isotopes, carbon and nitrogen cycling
Sameer Honwad
sameer.honwad@unh.edu
Education Environmental sustainability using technology and collaborative learning approaches; study learners worldwide in different cultures and how they understand ecosystem processes and use this knowledge in their everyday life practices
Theodore Howard
ted.howard@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Economics of natural resources
Jennifer Jacobs
jennifer.jacobs@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Surface water hydrology and land-surface
water and energy dynamics
Joel Johnson
joel.johnson@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Marine geology, sedimentology
Paul Johnson
pcj@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Insect ecology and integrated pest management of forest insects
Linda Kalnejais
linda.kalnejais@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Sediment geochemistry, trace-metal chemistry, coastal oceanography, acid-mine drainage
Nancy Kinner
nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Bioremediation of contaminated subsurface environments and more generally, environmental microbiology
Paul Kirshen
Paul.Kirshen@unh.edu
Environmental Engineering/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Water resources engineering and management, climate change vulnerability assessment and adaptation planning
Adrienne Kovach
adrienne.kovach@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Molecular ecology, population biology and conservation genetics of vertebrates
Jo Laird
jo.laird@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Metamorphic petrology
Richard Lammers
richard.lammers@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Hydrological cycle and human influences
Thomas Lee
tom.lee@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Community and physiological ecology
Joseph Licciardi
joe.licciardi@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Glacial geology
Anne Lightbody
anne.lightbody@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Civil and Environmental Engineering Flow and transport within surface water systems, including rivers, streams, lakes, fresh-water wetlands, and salt-water marshes
John Litvaitis
john@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Population dynamics, landscape ecology and conservation biology
Marian Litvaitis
m.litvaitis@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Biodiversity, phylogenetics, and connectivity of marine invertebrates; conservation genetics of vertebrates
Mary Martin
mary.martin@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Hyperspectral remote sensing
Larry Mayer
Larry.Mayer@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Ocean mapping
William McDowell
bill.mcdowell@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Land use and water quality, biogeochemical cycles
Michael Merenda
michael.merenda@unh.edu
Management Strategic management, entrepreneurship, international business and SME competitiveness
Weiwei Mo
weiwei.mo@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Sustainable and resilient urban infrastructure, complex systems modeling, life cycle assessment, industrial ecology
Samuel B. Mukasa
sam.mukasa@unh.edu
Dean of CEPS/Earth Sciences
Petrology, geochemistry and geochronology
Scott Ollinger
scott.ollinger@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecology, nutrient cycling, air pollution impacts on forest ecosystems, modeling
Michael Palace
michael.palace@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Study of Earth, Oceans and Space Tropical forest ecology and structure
Peter Pekins
pete.pekins@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological energetics of wildlife
Jonathan Pennock
jonathan.pennock@unh.edu
School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering/
Natural Resources and the Environment
Estuarine and coastal phytoplankton ecology and nutrient biogeochemistry
James Pringle
jpringle@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Physical oceanography
Robert Robertson
rob.robertson@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Human dimensions in natural resources management, sustainable tourism development
Rebecca J. Rowe
rebecca.rowe@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Vertebrate community ecology, landscape ecology, impacts of land use and climate
change, ecosystem sustainability, historical ecology
Thomas Safford
tom.safford@unh.edu
Sociology Analyzing inter-organizational relationships and understanding the roles different public and private sector organizations play in environmental management
Joseph E. Salisbury

joe.salisbury@unh.edu

Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Characterize distributions of carbon dioxide, air-sea carbon exchange, acidification and productivity in riverine-influenced coastal regions, developing methods for understanding community productivity dynamics and plume detection using satellite ocean color data
Fredrick Short
fred.short@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/Marine, Estuarine and Freshwater Biology Ecology of marine plants ecosystems
Becky Sideman

Becky.Sideman@unh.edu

UNH Cooperative Extension/
Biological Sciences
Sustainable agriculture, vegetable and small fruit production, plant breeding and genetics, plant disease resistance and pathogen interactions, plant pathology and disease management
Richard G. Smith
richard.smith@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Agroecology, sustainable agricultural systems, weed ecology and management, functional role of biological diversity in agroecosystems, plant invasions, community ecology
Stacia Sower
sasower@unh.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Biomedical Sciences Molecular & biochemical endocrinology & neuroendocrinology integrates a system approach that includes multidisciplinary, comparative, genomics, neuroendocrine, physiological, biochemical and molecular studies
Michael Swack
michael.swack@unh.edu

Economics/Carsey School of Public Policy Development finance, community development, economic development and microfinance
Douglas Vandemark
doug.vandemark@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Air-sea interaction and ocean remote sensing
Stacy VanDeveer
stacy.vandeveer@unh.edu
Political Science Global and regional environmental politics and policymaking; the role of expertise is policy making; European and North American environmental politics.
Ruth Varner
ruth.varner@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Trace gas measurements of methyl bromide and carbon dioxide
Cameron Wake
cameron.wake@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Ice chemistry, glaciology, air quality and human health interactions
Larry Ward
larry.ward@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Coastal geology, sedimentation
Fiona Wilson
fiona.wilson@unh.edu
Management Corporate sustainability, business models designed for social and environmental impact, social entrepreneurship
Wilfred Wollheim
wil.wollheim@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/Water Systems Analysis Group Watershed nutrient and carbon dynamics, aquatic ecosystems, watershed and ecosystem modeling
Jingfeng Xiao
j.xiao@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Terrestrial carbon cycle, remote sensing, ecological modeling, disturbances, vegetation dynamics, land cover/land use change, and human-environment interactions
Affiliate Faculty/ Email Department Research Interests
Janet Campbell (Emeritus)
janet.campbell@unh.edu
School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering Remote sensing of phytoplankton pigments and primary productivity in the ocean, optics of the ocean
John Campbell
jlcampbell@fs.fed.us
U.S. Forest Service Biogeochemical cycling, water quality, forest ecosystems
Semme Dijkstra

s.dijkstra@unh.edu

Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center Ocean Mapping: seafloor characterization, small object detection and habitat mapping
Kevin Dodds
kdodds@fs.fed.us

U.S. Forest Service Forest entomology, forest health, insect ecology, forest disturbance
Mark Fahnestock
mark.fahnestock@unh.edu
Earth Systems Research Center/ Earth Sciences Glaciology of large ice sheets, remote sensing of ice and snow.
Richard Hallett
richard.hallett@unh.edu
U.S. Forest Service Forest nutrient cycling, remote sensing, forest health, regional studies
Joel Hartter
joel.hartter@colorado.edu
Carsey School of Public Policy Natural resource use in rural communities, human-environment interactions, protected areas, and land use/land cover change
David Hollinger
davidh@unh.edu
U.S. Forest Service Forest-atmosphere interactions, global policy change
Matthew Huber
matthew.huber@unh.edu
Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space Climate dynamics prediction
John G.W. Kelley
john.kelley@noaa.gov
john.kelley@unh.edu
Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center
GIS-based web mapping and coastal, estuarine, and Great Lakes oceanographic forecast modeling systems
Rakesh Minocha
rakesh.minocha@unh.edu
USDA Forest Service Acid rain, stress physiology, biochemical stress indicators, forest health
Isabel Munck
imunck@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service

Forest pathology, forest health, forest ecology, forest management

Andrew Rosenberg
andy.rosenberg@unh.edu
Ocean Process Analysis Lab/Natural Resources and the Environment Marine policy
Annette Schloss
annette.schloss@unh.edu
UNH Joan and James Leitzel Center

Earth Science themed programs for digital planetariums and portable Discovery Domes