MEDIA ADVISORY: UNH Experts Offer Environmental Insights For Earth Day (April 22)
Contact: Beth Potier
603-862-1566
UNH Media Relations
March 27, 2006

From the depths of the sea to the top of Mt. Washington to the outer edges of the solar system, University of New Hampshire researchers are taking the pulse of the planet’s health. Climate change, fisheries decline, organic food production, and biodiesel technology are among the Earth Day-related subjects UNH professors can provide expert commentary on.

Further, UNH is one of the nation’s greenest campuses: It’s ranked in the top five percent of research campuses for energy efficiency by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Here is a sampling of the university’s rich resources in environmental issues:

 

Climate Change

George Hurtt, assistant professor of natural resources and Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space
603-862-4185
george.hurtt@unh.edu
http://www.unh.edu/natural-resources/fac-hurtt.html

Cameron Wake, research associate professor, Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space
603-862-2329
cameron.wake@cisunix.unh.edu

http://www.ccrc.sr.unh.edu/~cpw/

 

General Sustainability and UNH’s “Green” Efforts

Tom Kelly, director, UNH Office of Sustainability

603-862-2640

Tom.kelly@unh.edu

www.sustainableunh.unh.edu

 

Biodiesel

Ihab Farag, professor of chemical engineering
603-862-2313
ihab.farag@unh.edu

http://www.chemengunh.com/ChemEngg/dispFaculty.aspx?action=display&fid=Farag10

UNH Biodiesel Group

http://www.unh.edu/p2/biodiesel/article_alge.html

 

Fisheries management

Andrew Rosenberg, professor of natural resources policy and management

603-862-2020
andy.rosenberg@unh.edu

http://www.unh.edu/natural-resources/fac-rosenberg.html

 

Marine ecology

James (Jeb) Byers, assistant professor of zoology
603-862-0006
jebyers@cisunix.unh.edu
http://zoology.unh.edu/faculty.html

Stephen Jones, research associate professor, director of the UNH Center for Marine Biology and assistant director for research of the NH Sea Grant College Program

603-862-5124

shj@cisunix.unh.edu

http://marine.unh.edu/facJones.htm

Ann Reid, director, Great Bay Coast Watch

603-749-1565
ann.reid@unh.edu

http://www.gbcw.unh.edu/

 

Ecology and environmental policy

Mimi Larsen Becker, associate professor of natural resources and environmental policy

603-862-3950
mlbecker@unh.edu

http://www.unh.edu/natural-resources/fac-becker.html

 

UNH Organic Dairy

Charles Schwab, professor of dairy science

603-862-1341
Email: cschwab@cisunix.unh.edu

Press release: UNH to Establish Organic Dairy Farm

http://www.unh.edu/news/news_releases/2005/december/bp_051205organic.html