UNH Experts Available to Discuss Aftermath of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita


Contact: Kim Billings
603-862-1558

Erika Mantz
603-862-1567

UNH Media Relations

Sept. 14, 2005



DURHAM, N.H. -- The long-term impacts of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in environmental, governmental, social and economic areas become more apparent every day. Below is a list of faculty and staff experts at the University of New Hampshire who can address these long-term issues.

Environmental

Cleaning Up Contaminated Areas
Kevin Gardner, director of the UNH Center for Contaminated Sediment Research
Gardner can discuss the clean-up of contaminated sediment.
603-862-4334 (office)
603-659-5069 (home)
kevin.gardner@unh.edu

Hurricane Intensity and Future Forecasts
David Brown, UNH assistant professor of geography and the New Hampshire state climatologist
Brown can discuss why Hurricane Katrina was so intense and whether there will be more hurricanes like it.
603-862-7052
david.brown@unh.edu

Oil Spills/Groundwater Contamination
Nancy Kinner, director of the Coastal Response Research Center, UNH/NOAA joint, and professor of civil engineering.
Kinner can discuss oil spills, soil and groundwater contamination, and bioremediation, a clean-up technology that uses naturally occurring microorganisms to degrade hazardous substances into less toxic or nontoxic compounds.
603-862-1422 (office)
603-659-7229 (home)
nancy.kinner@unh.edu

Rebuilding New Orleans
Kurk Dorsey, UNH associate professor of history
Dorsey can discuss the history of New Orleans from an environmental standpoint as well as the decision to rebuild.
603-862-3022 (office)
603-659-6289 (home)
kd@hopper.unh.edu

Shellfish and Oyster Industry
Richard Langan, director of the Cooperative Institute for Coastal and Estuarine Environmental Technology and of the Open Ocean Aquaculture Project, a partnership of UNH and NOAA
Langan can discuss aquaculture, including the shellfish/oyster industry, and coastal pollution and degradation.
rlangan@cisunix.unh.edu
603-862-0190

Stormwater Management
Robert Roseen, director of the UNH Stormwater Center
Roseen can discuss stormwater management, a major coastal water quality issue.
603-862-4024
robert.roseen@unh.edu

Viruses
John Burger, UNH professor of zoology
Burger is an entomologist who can comment on West Nile virus and other mosquito-borne viruses.
603-862-1736
jfb@cisunix.unh.edu

Water Supplies
Michael Robin Collins, UNH professor of civil engineering
Collins can address the effects of Katrina and Rita on water supplies and wastewater management along the Gulf Coast.
603-862-1407
robin.collins@unh.edu

Governmental

Federal Accountability
Mel Dubnick, UNH professor of political science and director of the Graduate Public Administration Program
Dubnick can address the effects of Katrina and Rita on municipal services and discuss the federal administrative aspects of the disaster in terms of FEMA response and accountability.
603-862-4083
mel.dubnick@unh.edu

Public Leadership Lessons
Carole Barnett, UNH associate professor of decision sciences
Barnett can discuss what the disaster tell us about the exercise of public leadership.
603-862-3307
carole.barnett@unh.edu

Regional Planning for Disasters
Brad Manning, director of the UNH Office of Environmental Health and Safety and the University Emergency Group
Manning can discuss how regions plan for and mitigate the effects of natural disasters.
603-862-2571
bmanning@cisunix.unh.edu

Social

Race and Poverty
J. William Harris, UNH professor of history
Harris can discuss what has been learned about race and poverty along the Gulf Coast as a result of the hurricane.
603-862-3019
jwharris@cisunix.unh.edu

Social and Health Consequences
Sharyn Potter, UNH associate professor of sociology
Potter can address the social and health consequences of people who survived Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
(603) 862-3630
sharyn.potter@unh.edu

Economic

Economic Consequences of Hurricane Katrina
Jim Wible, UNH professor of economics
Wible can discuss the economic consequences of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
603-862-3324
jim.wible@unh.edu