Related Links

Sigma Theta Tau

UNH Nursing Department


UNH Nursing Honor Society Recognizes Excellence and Inducts New Members

Contact Sharon Keeler
UNH News Bureau
(603) 862-1566

July 1, 2003

DURHAM, N.H. -- The Eta Iota chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing at the University of New Hampshire recently honored several nurses and inducted 45 new members

Awards to honor excellence in academic achievement, research, leadership and mentorship were given to Emily Collins, Kathy Carson, RN, and Gail Lenehan, RN, Outstanding Student Achievement Awards; UNH Associate Professor of Nursing Susan Fetzer, RN, Excellence in Research; Cynthia Gray, RN, Excellence in Leadership; Diana Crowell, RN, CS, CNAA, Excellence in Mentorship; UNH Associate Professor of Nursing Raelene Shippee-Rice, RN, Community Research Grant; and Christine Di Geronomo, Student Research Grant.

New members inducted into the honor society include:

Loranda Armendariz Joni Bourque
Barbara Brown Heather Brown
Julia Buckley Kathleen Carson
Alyssa Cutter Beryl Davis
Kristen Dexter Christine DiGeronomo
Caitlin Donaghy Danielle Dumas
Kimberly Eranio Cynthia Fagnant
Patricia Feely Christine Granfield
Pauline Griffit Vivienne Haley
Paula Hudon Laura Ireland
Daniel Kane Holly Kurisko
Michelle LeFebvre Gail Lenahan
C. Andrew Martin Lisa McGuire
Penny McKinnon Joyce Murphy-Gale
Elizabeth Panagoulias Mooneen Parkinson
Patricia Peters Melissa Peterson
Andrea Porter Natacha Pryor
Patricia Puglisi Doreen Shore
Shiela Strong-Obrien Bethany Terrio
Renate Thome Andrea Tomasetti
Kathleen Twomey Pauline Turner
Erica Webber Erika Zogopoulos

Six nursing students founded sigma Theta Tau International to recognize, promote and reward nursing excellence. Sigma Theta has more than 100,000 active members throughout the world. It is a network of nursing leaders who practice as clinicians, administrators, supervisors and educators dedicated to improving the health of the world's people through knowledge, scholarship, technology and leadership. Membership is conferred only on nursing students or nurses with exceptional achievement in their field who have graduated from bachelors, masters or doctoral programs.

Back to UNH News Bureau