UNH Honors Former President and Board of Trustees Chair with Building Designations

New Residence and Dining Halls Named After Eugene Mills and Paul Holloway

By Lori Gula
UNH News Bureau

October 4, 2002

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire will recognize two individuals for their distinguished service to the university with the naming of the new residence hall and dining hall in their honor.

The new residence hall is named Mills Hall, in honor of former UNH President Eugene S. Mills. The new dining hall is named Holloway Commons, in recognition of Paul J. Holloway, former chair of the USNH Board of Trustees.

"The leadership and vision of Eugene Mills and Paul Holloway have had substantial and lasting impacts on the university, and it is only fitting that the university recognize the service of these two public servants in this manner," UNH President Ann Weaver Hart said.

Mills was president of the university from 1974 to 1979. Prior to his service, he was professor of psychology and department chair at UNH from 1962 to 1963, dean of the Graduate School from 1963 to 1967, dean of the College of Liberal Arts from 1967 to 1970, academic vice president from 1970 to 1971, and provost from 1971 to 1974. He assumed the presidency at a difficult and transforming time in American higher education. His tenure was characterized by a calm, candid approach to problems, reason and conciliation in resolving conflict, and forceful support for higher standards in all affairs of the university. In 1988, UNH awarded Mills an honorary doctorate. He is a trustee of Earlham College in Indiana and a director of a charitable trust in California. He and his wife, Dotty Mills, remain active in the life of UNH and attend many university events and programs.

Paul J. Holloway served an unprecedented 16-year term on the USNH Board of Trustees, serving as chairperson from 1985 to1988. While chair, Holloway was instrumental in securing the first round of financing for new student housing from the Higher Educational and Health Facilities Authority, and he ensured that students actively participate in the fee and rate-setting process, a practice that continues.

In addition, he is an accomplished business leader, entrepreneur and public servant. He has held leadership positions in many nonprofit organizations and has received the Robert Frost Contemporary American Award, an honorary doctorate from UNH, the UNH Alumni Association Profile of Service Award, and the USNH Chancellor's Award. He and his wife, Anna Grace Holloway, currently support and sponsor the annual Holloway Prize competition through the Whittemore School of Business and Economics.

Mills Hall will become home to 360 students who will live in suite-style quarters in the five-story building. The $24.6 million residence hall is located between Fairchild Hall and C-Lot. The building will feature the latest in high-speed Internet technology in student rooms. It is ahead of schedule and will be completed in October.

Holloway Commons, a $26.4 million facility, will be connected to the Memorial Union Building and provide students a wide variety of dining selections as part of the Marche-style dining concept. It also will feature an 800-seat dining hall, after-hours cafe and a 300-seat meeting/conference room. It is scheduled to be completed in July 2003.

The Mills Hall dedication ceremony will be held Nov. 7. A dedication ceremony for Holloway Commons will be scheduled soon after it opens. Details on each dedication ceremony will be forthcoming.

Back to UNH News Bureau