N.H. Sea Grant
 

UNH Discovery Cruises Will Explore the Coast and Its Treasured Islands

By Kathleen Schmitt
UNH News Bureau

June 6, 2002


EDITORS/NEWS DIRECTORS:
Members of the media are invited to join any cruise (see schedule below). Contact Barbara Pinto-Maurer at 603-749-1565 or e-mail Barbara.Pinto@unh.edu for more information.

DURHAM, N.H. -- Get your hands wet while whetting your sense of wonder. Come aboard the University of New Hampshire research vessel the Gulf Challenger for a fun and educational tour of the Great Bay Estuary or the Isles of Shoals this summer.

Explore the culture, history, science and beauty of coastal New Hampshire in an informal educational setting. The UNH Marine Docents make learning fun aboard the Gulf Challenger as they guide you through activities like catching plankton and testing water clarity. Get a close look at the crabs, sea stars and sponges that call this environment home. There's plenty of time to enjoy the sights, chat with a friendly docent or visit the captain in the pilothouse to learn about the latest in electronic navigation.

Great Bay Discovery Cruises travel up the Piscataqua River into Little Bay/Great Bay Estuary, with a stop at Adams Point for a tour of the Jackson Estuarine Laboratory. The Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruises stop at Appledore Island, with a tour of the Shoals Marine Lab. Both cruises leave from the Portsmouth Fish Pier.

Great Bay Discovery Cruise dates are Saturday, June 15; Monday, July 1; Sunday, July 21; Tuesday, July 30; Thursday, August 1; Friday, August 9; Saturday, August 10; and Saturday, October 5. Cruise times are 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. and admission is $15.

Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruise dates are Sunday, July 7; Saturday, July 13; Saturday, July 27; Sunday, July 28; Saturday, August 3; Sunday, August 11; Saturday, August 17; Sunday, August 18; Saturday, August 24; and Sunday, August 25. Cruise times are 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. and admission is $20.

For more information or to make a reservation, please call N.H. Sea Grant at 603-749-1565 or e-mail Barbara.Pinto@unh.edu. Reservations will be taken on a first come-first serve basis and should be made at least five days prior to cruise date. Children 10 and older are welcome with an adult.

Discovery Cruises are sponsored by N.H. Sea Grant, the UNH/NOAA Cooperative Institute for Coastal and Estuarine Environmental Technology (CICEET), and UNH Cooperative Extension.

Back to UNH News Bureau