UNH Announces Honorary Chairs for Next Horizon Campaign

By Maggie Paine
UNH News Bureau

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire is proud to announce the honorary chairs for its upcoming $100 million fund-raising campaign, the largest in the university's history. Award-winning television producer Marcia Peterson Carsey, New Hampshire Governor Jeanne Shaheen and investment banker Frederick Whittemore will lead The Next Horizon: The Campaign for the University of New Hampshire, which begins with a kickoff celebration Oct. 1-2 in Durham.

"We are tremendously fortunate to have these three exceptional leaders assisting us in our quest to make the University of New Hampshire one of the finest public universities in the country," says President Joan Leitzel. "We feel confident that their vision, talent and experience will be great assets as we strive to meet our ambitious campaign goals."

Marcia Peterson Carsey, who graduated from UNH with honors in 1966, is the award-winning producer of such hit television programs as "The Cosby Show," "3rd Rock from the Sun," and "Roseanne." Carsey joined ABC in 1974, and rose quickly through the ranks, first to vice president of prime-time comedy and variety programs, then to senior vice president of prime-time series.

Carsey launched Carsey-Werner, a television production company, with partner Tom Werner in 1981. Carsey-Werner has since won the Emmy, the People's Choice Award, the Golden Globe, the NAACP Image award, the Humanitas Prize, the Peabody and various humanitarian awards for producing responsible television programming.

Carsey, who was an English major at UNH, has maintained strong ties to the university. She was a founding member of the UNH Foundation Board and is a strong supporter of the liberal arts, funding a program for six years that brought talented minority high school students to UNH to study music and English. She received an honorary doctorate from UNH in 1988 and and will receive the 1999 Pettee Medal -- the UNH Alumni Association's highest honor -- during the campaign kickoff.

Governor Jeanne Shaheen graduated from Shippensburg University in Pennsylvania in 1969, and received a master's degree from the University of Mississippi in 1973. She was first elected to the New Hampshire Senate in 1990 and focused on lowering electric rates, affordable health care and economic development. In November, 1996, she became the first woman governor elected in the state. As governor, she made the establishment of statewide incentives for public kindergarten a priority, created the Computers in the Schools initiative to encourage businesses to provide technology to schools, and signed into law a tax-deferred tuition savings plan to help families save for college. In April, she approved legislation aimed at reforming the state's funding methods for public education.

Frederick Whittemore is an advisory director with Morgan Stanley & Co. Inc. He was born in Pembroke, N.H., and graduated from Dartmouth College and Dartmouth's Tuck School of Business Administration. He joined Morgan Stanley in 1958, was named a partner in 1967, and a managing director in 1970. He is a past chairman of the National Syndicate Committee and has served as governor and vice chairperson of the American Stock Exchange. Whittemore was president of the Bond Club of New York and international president of the Pacific Basin Economic Council. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and serves on numerous corporate and civic boards.

The Whittemore family has a long history of service to the state of New Hampshire and to its university. Whittemore's father, Laurence, served as a UNH trustee from 1944 to 1960 and as president of the board from 1954 to 1960. The Whittemore School of Business and Economics is named in his honor. Frederick Whittemore is a founding director of the UNH Foundation.

Those interested in attending the campaign events should contact UNH Public Programs and Events at 862-1461 or send an e-mail to vml@christa.unh.edu.

September 20, 1999

Back to unh.edu.