UNH Awards Scholarships to Future Educators

By Tracy Manforte
UNH News Bureau

DURHAM, N.H. -- The University of New Hampshire Department of Education has awarded scholarships to some of its most talented graduate students in the Masters in Teaching Program.

Excellence in Teaching scholarships are awarded to teacher education students who attended New Hampshire high schools and are involved in the year-long graduate internship. The following recipients have been selected for their teaching potential, academic ability and commitment to education:

Justin Chapman, Concord; Arthur Rivet, Henniker; and Robert Sernekos, Portsmouth.

The department also awarded 12 scholarships from the Fred Weare Stone Scholarship Fund, given by the Class of 1930 to recognize its 50-year anniversary in 1980. Following are recipients, also chosen for their academic excellence and potential in the profession:

Travis Baker, Amherst; Cheryl Boivert, Sanford, Maine; Elizabeth Deering, Hollis, Maine; Michael Gaudreau, Kittery, Maine; Kelly Gordon, Hooksett; Sarah MacKenzie, Laconia; Amy Mann, Nashua; Heather McGowen, Litchfield; James McKenna, Hampton; John Monahan, North Hampton; Michel Phaneuf, Hudson; and Kayden Will, Madbury.

October 18, 1999

Back to unh.edu.