UNH Faculty Receive Top Honors
Contact:  Erika Mantz
UNH Media Relations
May 15, 2007

DURHAM, N.H. -- Eighteen faculty members at the University of New Hampshire have been honored for excellence in teaching, research, and public service. Nominated by colleagues and students, recipients of the 2007 excellence awards include faculty members from all seven UNH schools and colleges and represent a diverse array of fields from music and education to ocean engineering, zoology, sociology, and many others.

“The faculty being recognized this year reflects the full spectrum of UNH's mission, from superior teaching and mentoring to paradigm-shifting inquiry,” said Bruce Mallory, provost and executive vice president. “This group of faculty has been chosen by their peers because of their excellence in classrooms, studios, concert halls, laboratories, community and corporate settings, and learned societies. I am proud to be associated with them.”

This year’s winners are:

Distinguished Professor, Michael Andrew, professor of education

Outstanding Associate Professor, David Ripley, associate professor of music

Outstanding Assistant Professor Award, Brad Kinsey, assistant professor of mechanical engineering

Excellence in Research Award, Larry Mayer, professor of earth sciences and ocean engineering

Excellence in Public Service, Grant Cioffi, associate professor of education

Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Public Service, Ellen Fitzpatrick, professor of history

Jean Brierley Teaching Award, Charles Walker, professor of zoology

Excellence in International Engagement, Larry Hamilton, professor of sociology

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award, Palligarnai T. Vasudevan, professor of chemical/environmental engineering

Excellence in Teaching, Michael Annicchiarico, associate professor of music

Excellence in Teaching, Stephen Brunet, associate professor of classics

Excellence in Teaching, Joseph Onosko, associate professor of education

Excellence in Teaching, M. Robinson Swift, professor of mechanical engineering and ocean engineering

Excellence in Teaching, Anthony Tenczar, assistant professor of communications

Excellence in Teaching, Rene Bergeron, associate professor of social work

Excellence in Teaching, Udo Schlentrich, associate professor of hospitality management

Excellence in Teaching, James Byers, associate professor of zoology

Excellence in Teaching, Charles Caramihalis, associate professor of food services management

email this page!