Take a Discovery Cruise into Great Bay or out to the Isles of Shoals
Contact:  Rebecca Zeiber
603-749-1565
NH Sea Grant
June 7, 2007

NOTE TO EDITORS: Members of the media are invited to join any Discovery Cruise (see schedule below). Contact Dari Ward at 603.749.1565 or dari.ward@unh.edu for more information.


Durham, N.H. – Join the University of New Hampshire Marine Docents this summer for a day cruise aboard the university’s research vessel, the R/V Gulf Challenger. Find out what UNH researchers are learning about the marine and estuarine environments, and get up close and personal with coastal creatures and local history.

Learn about the history of New Hampshire’s seacoast aboard the Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruise. The Shoals Cruise includes a visit to Appledore Island and a tour of the Shoals Marine Lab. Or choose the Great Bay Discovery Cruise, which travels up the Piscataqua River into Little Bay/Great Bay Estuary. Marine Docents will lead activities such as catching plankton and testing water quality. The Great Bay Cruise also stops for a tour of the UNH Jackson Estuarine Laboratory.

Cruises cost $25 per person and leave the Portsmouth Fish Pier at 9 a.m. Children ages 10 and older are welcome with an adult. Space is limited — reserve your cruise now! For more information or to make a reservation, please visit our website at www.unh.edu/marine-education.

Discovery Cruises are sponsored by NH Sea Grant and UNH Cooperative Extension.

Isles of Shoals Discovery Cruise:

(includes a stop at Appledore Island and Shoals Marine Laboratory)

From 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Admission: $25.00

Sunday July 1

Sunday July 15

Sunday July 29

Saturday August 4

Sunday August 5

Sunday August 12

Saturday August 25

Sunday September 9

Sunday September 16

Sunday September 23

Great Bay Discovery Cruise:

(Includes a stop at Jackson Estuarine Laboratory)

From 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Admission: $20.00

Saturday June 30

Saturday July 21

Sunday July 22

Tuesday August 14

Sunday August 19

Saturday September 29

(Dates and availability are subject to change.)

email this page!